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     May 3, 1971     (OPINION) 
 
     Mr. John O. Garaas 
 
     State's Attorney 
 
     Cass County 
 
     RE:  Statutes - Food and Drug Act - Does Not Include Narcotics 
 
     This is in response to your letter in which you state that on 
     occasions the Police Department has arrested people in possession of 
     drugs, including amphetamines, hallucinogenics and also marijuana. 
     On arrest it has been found that these drugs, including marijuana, 
     were carried in unmarked plastic bags. 
 
     You then make reference to section 19-02.1-02 and subsections 1 
     through 14.  You further observe that any violation of the 
     aforementioned subsections constitutes a misdemeanor whereas the 
     possession of certain drugs under section 19-02.1-02(17) as well as 
     the section pertaining to marijuana and the possession thereof 
     (19-03-28.1) makes same a felony.  You then ask: 
 
           1.  Would it be possible to charge and convict persons in 
               possession of narcotic drugs in circumstances described 
               above under any of the first 14 subsections of section 
               19-02.1-02 of the North Dakota Century Code? 
 
           2.  Is marijuana a drug within the meaning of subsection 4 of 
               section 19-02.1-01?  If so, under the above described 
               circumstances, is it possible to charge and convict a 
               person in possession of marijuana under any of the first 
               subsections of section 10-02.1-02? 
 
     Subsections 1 through 14 of section 19-02.1-02 are primarily 
     concerned with and prohibit adulteration, misbranding, false 
     advertising, false labeling, altering, mutilation, obliterating, 
     removing, forging, or counterfeiting, any label, stamp, tag or other 
     identification to deceive or misrepresent.  These provisions are 
     primarily directed toward those who are authorized to sell of deliver 
     drugs to persons entitled to have or use them.  They are designed to 
     regulate the food and drug business where the sale and possession 
     under certain conditions are authorized.  The possession, use and 
     sale of marijuana is prohibited, except as authorized in chapter 
     19-03.  But such chapter does not authorize it, and, as such, it is 
     not a regulated item. 
 
     In instances where the Legislature has provided specific legislation 
     on a subject matter, such legislation is to be applied to the 
     situation.  North Dakota has a specific statute on the possession, 
     use and sale of marijuana (Section 19-03-28.1).  The use, possession 
     and sale of marijuana is not regulated.  It is prohibited. 
 
     By the enactment of section 19-03-28.1 the Legislature has clearly 



     indicated that any violation thereof should be prosecuted under said 
     section. 
 
     We are further of the opinion that the Legislature intended that any 
     violations pertaining to the use, sale or possession of marijuana 
     should be brought before the district court. 
 
     In this respect it is noted that the penalty may be a fine of $2,000 
     and imprisonment in the county jail for not less than six months or 
     by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for not more than two 
     years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.  The penalty for the 
     second offense is a fine of not more than $2,000 or imprisonment in 
     the State Penitentiary for not more than five years or both such fine 
     and imprisonment.  It also provides that a person over the age of 18 
     years who provides, sells, trades or furnishes or gives marijuana to 
     a person under 18 years of age or who utilizes the services of a 
     person under 18 years of age in accomplishing this is subject to 
     imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a period of not less than 
     five years nor more than 10 years.  Under the provisions of chapter 
     12-01-07 the violation may be considered a felony or a misdemeanor 
     depending upon the judgment imposed by the court.  It is thus 
     observed that the violation and the charge is considered a felony, 
     but the court, in imposing a sentence, may make it a misdemeanor by 
     imposing a penalty other than imprisonment in the State Penitentiary. 
 
     The entire history of the statutes involved including the enactment 
     of House Bill 1558 which amends many provisions of Chapter 19-02.1 
     and provides for new legislation in place of Section 19-03-28.1 is in 
     conformity with the thoughts expressed herein. 
 
     We cannot accept the concept that the violation of statutes which 
     prohibit the sale, use, or possession of certain drugs, including 
     marijuana, should be treated as mere traffic violations. 
 
     It is therefore our opinion that the use, sale or possession or the 
     engaging in the trafficking of marijuana is a violation of section 
     19-03-28.1 and must be prosecuted under its provisions.  We do not 
     believe that subsections 1 through 14 of section 19-02.1-02 have 
     application to the unlawful sale, use, or possession of certain 
     drugs, like amphetamines, hallucinogenics, including marijuana. 
 
     HELGI JOHANNESON 
 
     Attorney General 


