# North Dakota Library Coordinating Council (NDLCC) Minutes of the Regular Quarterly Meeting February 8, 2024 via Teams North Dakota State Library Bismarck, ND

**Council Members Present:** Chair Angie Nagle, Andrea Placher, Michele Seil, Sally Dockter, Austin Lafferty, Jane la Plante, Maddie Cummings, Traci Lund, Will Martin, and Mary Soucie.

Council Members Not Present: Joe Camisa

Others Present: North Dakota State Library Recorder Cheryl Pollert

**Call to order:** Chair Nagle called the meeting to order at 9:03 A.M. with a quorum established.

**Review of the agenda:** Chair Nagle asked for additions or changes to the Agenda. There were no additions or corrections.

**Approval of November 3, 2023 minutes:** Chair Nagle asked for additions or corrections to the minutes. There were no additions or corrections, and the minutes were approved as presented.

**State Library report:** Soucie asked for questions regarding the State Library report. There were no questions regarding the report.

## **Old and New Business:**

# a. Library Vision Grants:

- i. NDSL Financial Reports for Library Vision Funds:
  - The Council accepted the reports as received.
- ii. All North Dakota Library Coordinating Council members abstained from voting on their grants being voted on if they applied.
- iii. Security Grant Review:
  - Placher moved to deny the Bottineau County Public Library Security Grant, Cummings seconded. 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstentions.
  - Placher moved to deny the Maddock Community Library's Security Grant, Cummings seconded. 5 Yes, 4 No, 0 Abstentions.
  - Placher moved to deny the McKenzie County Public Library's Security Grant, Martin seconded. 8 Yes, 1 No, 0 Abstentions.
  - La Plante moved to fund the Edna Ralston Public Library and the James River Valley Library System's Security Grants, Dockter seconded. 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstentions.
  - Lund moved to fund the Carrington City Library's Security Grant, Cummings seconded. 9 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.

- Martin moved to fund the Divide County Public Library's Security Grant, Lafferty seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.
- Lund moved to fund the Lake Region Public Library's Security Grant, Dockter seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.

# iv. Public Spaces Grant Review:

- The Williston Community Library withdrew their grant from this grant round.
- Cummings moved to deny the Bowman Regional Public Library Public Spaces Grant, Placher seconded. 6 Yes, 3 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Seil moved to fund the Cavalier County Library's Public Spaces Grant, la Plante seconded. 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Dockter moved to fund the Cavalier Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Lund seconded. 4 Yes, 5 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Lund moved to fund the Grand Forks Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Placher seconded. 8 Yes, 1 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Cummings moved to fund the Iris Swedlund School & Public Library Public Spaces Grant, Dockter seconded. 7 Yes, 2 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Seil moved to fund the Valley City Barnes County Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Cummings seconded. 8 Yes, 1 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Martin moved to fund the West Fargo Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Lafferty seconded. 3 Yes, 6 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Placher moved to deny the Kenmare School Library's Public Spaces Grant, Martin seconded. 8 Yes, 1 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Placher moved to deny the Minot Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Dockter seconded. 6 Yes, 3 No, 0 Abstention.
- Lund moved to fund the Morton Mandan Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Martin seconded. 5 Yes, 3 No, 1 Abstention.
- Placher moved to deny the Kindred Elementary School Library's Public Spaces Grant, Lund seconded. 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstentions.
- Martin moved to fund the Divide County Elementary School Library's Public Spaces Grant, Lafferty seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.
- Lund moved to fund the Lake Region Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, Dockter seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.
- Cummings moved to fund the Underwood Public School Library's Public Spaces Grant, la Plante seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.
- Martin moved to fund the Divide County Elementary School Library's Public Spaces Grant, Lafferty seconded. 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Abstention.
- v. Dockter moved, Martin seconded, to fund all the Council approved grants at 84% of their requested amounts. 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstentions.

### vi. Grants Not to Fund:

 Divide County Elementary School Library Security Grant, Ashley Public School Library Public Spaces Grant, Fessenden-Bowdon Public School Library Public Spaces Grant, Litchville-Marion Public School Library Public Spaces Grant, Maple Valley High School Library Public Spaces Grant, New Town City Library Public Spaces Grant, Heart of America Library Public Spaces Grant, Sawyer Public School Library Public Spaces Grant, Valley City Junior Senior High School Library Public Spaces Grant, Maddock Community Library Public Spaces Grant, Kindred Public Library Public Spaces Grant, Leach Public Library Security Grant, and the ND School for the Deaf Public Spaces Grant.

# vii. Ineligible Grants:

- The LaMoure School & Public Library Public Spaces Grant, the Leach Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, the Wishek Public Library & School's Public Spaces Grant, the Edna Ralston Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, the Hazen Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, the Walhalla Public Library's Public Spaces Grant, the Enderlin Municipal Library's Security Grant, ND State University Library's Public Spaces Grant, Heart of America Library's Security Grant, the Rugby Ely Elementary School Library Public Spaces Grant, the Divide County Public Library Public Spaces Grant.
- viii. A committee for reviewing the Library Vision guidelines document was formed to include Council members: Placher, Lafferty, and Seil.

**Next Meeting:** May 9, 2024 at 9:00 AM which will be in-person at a library in the state TBD.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned 3:14 PM.