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SUMMARY OF STATES' "CAYLEE'S LAW" LEGISLATION 
 

This memorandum summarizes some of the 
legislation that has been introduced in states as a 
result of concerns about the disappearance and death 
of Caylee Marie Anthony.  Caylee Anthony was a two-
year-old girl who was reported missing in July 2008 in 
Orlando, Florida.  The girl's skeletal remains were 
found in a wooded area near her home in 
December 2008.  Her 22-year-old mother was tried for 
the first degree murder of Caylee Anthony but was 
acquitted.  State of Florida v. Casey Marie Anthony, 
48-2008-CF-015606-O.  Casey Anthony was 
convicted, however, of misdemeanor counts of 
providing false information to police officers.  

 
BACKGROUND 

Caylee Anthony lived with her mother and her 
maternal grandparents, George and Cindy Anthony. 
On July 15, 2008, Caylee was reported missing to 911 
by Cindy Anthony, who said she had not seen Caylee 
for 31 days and that Casey Anthony's car smelled like 
a dead body had been inside it.  Cindy Anthony said 
Casey Anthony had given varied explanations as to 
Caylee's whereabouts and finally admitted that day 
that she had not seen her daughter for weeks.  With 
the child still missing, Casey Anthony was charged 
with first degree murder in October and pled not guilty.  
On December 11, Caylee Anthony's skeletal remains 
were found with a blanket inside a trash bag in a 
wooded area near the family home.   

The trial lasted six weeks--from May to July 2011.  
The prosecution sought the death penalty and alleged 
Casey Anthony murdered her daughter by 
administering chloroform and then applied duct tape.  
The prosecution alleged that Casey Anthony 
committed the murder because she wanted to free 
herself from parental responsibilities.  The defense 
team countered that the child had drowned 
accidentally in the family's swimming pool on June 16, 
2008.  The defense claimed that Casey Anthony lied 
about this and other issues because of a dysfunctional 
upbringing, which the defense said included sexual 
abuse by her father.  

On July 5, 2011, the jury found Casey Anthony not 
guilty of first degree murder, aggravated child abuse, 
and aggravated manslaughter of a child, but guilty of 
four misdemeanor counts of providing false 
information to a law enforcement officer.  With credit 
for time served, Casey Anthony was released on 
July 17, 2011.  The verdict was greeted with public 
outrage and was both attacked and defended by 
media and legal commentators.  

 
"CAYLEE'S LAW" LEGISLATION 

Anthony has prompted state lawmakers to 
consider legislation that would criminalize the failure 
to report a missing or dead child.  According to the 
National Conference of State Legislatures, as of 

June 11, 2012, at least 6 states have enacted, and an 
additional 32 states have filed bills as a result of 
Anthony--Arizona (2), Alabama (3), California (2), 
Delaware (1), Florida (9), Georgia (1), Hawaii (7), 
Illinois (5), Iowa (2), Kansas (2), Kentucky (5), 
Louisiana (4), Maine (2), Maryland (3), 
Massachusetts (2), Michigan (5), Mississippi (1), 
Missouri (2), Nebraska (1), New Hampshire (2), New 
Jersey (6), New Mexico (3), New York (10), Ohio (3), 
Oklahoma (3), Oregon (1), Pennsylvania (3), South 
Carolina (2), South Dakota (1), Tennessee (12), 
Virginia (2), Vermont (2), Washington (2), West 
Virginia (2), and Wisconsin (2).  Key points in the bills 
include the qualifying age of a missing or dead child, 
how long the legal guardian has to report the incident 
to law enforcement, and how the crime is classified. 

 
Enacted Legislation 

On January 9, 2012, New Jersey became the first 
state to enact a "Caylee's Law" when Governor Chris 
Christie signed 2011 Senate Bill 3500.  The new law 
creates a fourth degree felony for a person with legal 
custody of a child to fail to report the disappearance of 
the child to police more than 24 hours after becoming 
aware of the disappearance.  A "child" means a 
person 13 years of age or younger in the New Jersey 
law. 

On April 6, 2012, Florida became the second state 
to enact a law that was prompted by Anthony.  In 
2012, House Bill 37, which was introduced by 
Representative Jose Felix Diaz, creates a criminal 
penalty, a first degree misdemeanor, for knowingly 
and willfully giving false information to mislead a 
police officer's investigation of a missing child.  If the 
child who is the subject of the investigation suffers 
great bodily harm, permanent disability, permanent 
disfigurement, or death, then the crime becomes a 
third degree felony. 

The Kansas Legislature passed House Bill 
No. 2534 on May 16, 2012, which has been signed by 
the Governor.  The new law criminalizes failing to 
report a missing or dead child and giving false 
information to a police officer. 

On May 23, 2012, Connecticut House Bill No. 5512 
became law.  This new law creates a crime for failing 
to report a missing child who is under the age of 
12 years old.  

On May 31, 2012, the Illinois General Assembly 
passed Senate Bill 2537 which creates a felony 
punishable by up to three years in prison and a 
$25,000 fine for failing to report a missing child.  The 
bill requires legal guardians of any missing child 
13 years old or younger to notify police within 
24 hours.  Children two years old and younger must 
be reported missing within one hour of their 
disappearance.  The bill also criminalizes the failure to 
report the death of any child within 12 hours.  The bill 
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was sent to the Governor on June 29, 2012, for final 
approval.   

Louisiana Act No. 454 creates the crimes of failure 
to report the death of a child and the failure to report a 
missing child.  The bill was signed into law on June 1, 
2012. 

 
RELATED STATE LAWS 

In addition to considering new laws, lawmakers 
and their constituents may be interested in 
understanding what current statutes may apply to 
those who fail to report a missing or dead child. 

 
Reckless Endangerment 

In some states, including North Dakota, there are 
reckless endangerment statutes that may apply to this 
situation.  For example, North Dakota Century Code 
Section 12.1-17-03 provides that "[a] person is guilty 
of an offense if he creates a substantial risk of serious 
bodily injury or death to another.  The offense is a 
class C felony if the circumstances manifest his 
extreme indifference to the value of human life. 
Otherwise it is a class A misdemeanor.  There is risk 
within the meaning of this section if the potential for 
harm exists, whether or not a particular person's 
safety is actually jeopardized."  

New York's Penal Law Section 120.25 makes it a 
felony if a person exhibits depraved indifference to 
human life and recklessly engages in conduct that 
creates a grave risk of death to another person.  Other 
states with reckless endangerment laws include 
Alabama, Connecticut, and Utah.   

 
Failure to Report a Death 

Some state statutes criminalize the failure to report 
a death.  Some of these laws place the duty on 
anyone with knowledge of the death.  For example, 
Arizona's A.R.S. Section 11-593 directs "any person 
having knowledge of the death of a human being . . . 
shall promptly notify the nearest peace officer of all 
information in the person's possession regarding the 
death and the circumstances surrounding it."  The 
statute lists the circumstances under which the law 
applies, including death by violence and death of a 
seemingly healthy person.  Failure to report under this 
statute is a Class 2 misdemeanor.  Other states have 
similar statutes that create a duty to report a death.  
These laws vary on whether they apply to a person 
without a professional duty to report.  

North Dakota Century Code Section 11-19.1-07 
makes the failure to report a death a Class B 
misdemeanor.  This section provides: 

11-19.1-07. Reports of death - Death 
of minor.  

1. Any person who discovers the deceased 
human body or acquires the first 
knowledge of the death of any 
individual, and any physician with 
knowledge that an individual died as a 
result of criminal or violent means, died 

suddenly when in apparent good health 
in a suspicious or unusual manner, or 
died as the result of any other reportable 
circumstance, shall notify immediately 
the office of coroner or any law 
enforcement officer of the known facts 
concerning the time, place, manner, and 
circumstances of that death, and any 
other information that may be required 
pursuant to this chapter. Any person 
who violates this section is guilty of a 
class B misdemeanor. 

2. Any person who discovers the deceased 
human body or acquires the first 
knowledge of the death of any minor 
who has received or is eligible to receive 
a birth record, when the minor died 
suddenly when in apparent good health, 
shall notify immediately law enforcement 
or the office of coroner of the known 
facts concerning the time, place, 
manner, and circumstances of the 
death. The death of a minor must be 
reported to the department of human 
services as provided under chapter 
50-25.1. The coroner shall take custody 
of the body and immediately consult 
with a law enforcement agency. The law 
enforcement agency shall investigate 
the death and notify the state's attorney 
of the findings. The coroner shall notify 
the state forensic examiner of each such 
death, and shall provide the state 
forensic examiner the information 
concerning the death as the state 
forensic examiner requires. The coroner 
or the assistant or deputy coroner shall 
notify the parent or guardian of a child 
under the age of one year of the right to 
the performance of an autopsy, at state 
expense, as provided by this chapter.  

 
STATES' CONCERNS ABOUT  

"CAYLEE'S LAW" LEGISLATION 
As discussed previously, at least 32 states have 

introduced "Caylee's Law" legislation; however, the 
legislation has been passed in only 6 states.  Many of 
the efforts to pass such legislation have failed or 
stalled over concerns that proposed changes were too 
broad, and in some cases, not necessary.  

Legislation in Iowa was rejected in January 2012 
after some questioned whether it was too vague.  
According to a February 23, 2012, Associated Press 
article, testimony in opposition to the legislation 
speculated that it would require parents to check in 
daily with children sent to summer camp.  The article 
also indicated that states have become stuck on 
determining the age in which the proposals should 
apply. 
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Generally, policymakers are divided in their 
support of such legislation.  Proponents argue that the 
law is needed to make parents act more responsibly 
by holding them accountable for failing to report their 
child missing or dead.  Some prosecutors have 
indicated that such laws would give them another tool 
to protect vulnerable children. 

Opponents contend that such legislation is 
unnecessary because a parent's failure to act to 
protect the health and safety of his or her child and to 
notify the authorities about a death or the location of a 
dead body are already crimes in most states.  
Moreover, some members of law enforcement have 
warned that ill-considered laws on reporting missing 
children risk punishing the innocent and tying the 
police up with investigations of missing child cases 
where no foul play was suspected.  

 


