METABOLIC SCREENING

Who?

Every baby born in North Dakota.

What?

Screening for genetic disorders.

When?

Between one and two days of age is the best
time for screening.

How?

Several small drops of blood, usually from
one poke of your baby’s heel, are allowed 1o
dry on a special paper and then sent to a
laboratory for testing.

Where?

The sample is sent to the University of lowa
Hygienic Laboratory in Ankeny, lowa.

AsK your health-care provider
for more details about North
Dakota's Newborn Screening
Program, or visit this website:

www.ndhealth.gov/familyhealth

North Dakota Department of Health
Division of Family Health

600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 301
Bismarck, ND 58505-0200
800.472.2286 or 701.328.2493
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What Is Newborn Screening?

Newbomn screening is a blood test for certain
metabolic and inherited disorders. The test 15
performed shortly after a baby’s birth. North
Dakota law requires all newborns and infants
born in the state to be screened.

The Morth Dakota Newborn Screening Program
identifies babies who may have one of these
disorders and alerts the baby’s health-care
provider to the need for further testing and
special care. With early diagnosis and
treatment, complications from these serious
disorders usually can be prevented.

Why Should My Baby Be Tested?

Babies with certain congenital disorders, often
called “hidden birth defects,” appear normal at
birth. If untreated, these conditions may affect
the baby's brain or physical development or
cause other medical problems. These conditions
can begin to affect the baby in the first days or
weeks of life.

These hidden disorders are problems in the
body s ability to make and use hormones,
proteins, sugars or blood cells. These defects
may be found in the blood long before
symptoms appear or before they can cause
serious damage.

By testing all newborns, many of these disorders
can be found early. The earlier the physician
diagnoses the disorder, the sooner treatment can
begin, Earlier treatment gives the baby a better
chance for normal growth and development, and
can prevent many of the medical problems
associated with these conditions.

How Is My Baby Tested?

All of the tests are performed from a few drops
of blood obtained by pricking baby’s heel at
least 24 hours after birth or just betore the baby
is discharged from the hospital. The blood is
collected on an absorbent paper collection form,
which is then sent to the University of lowa
Laboratory.

IMPORTANT!

Babies born outside of hospitals also should be
tested, preferably at about 24 hours to five days
after birth. Parents can arrange the screemng
with their health-care provider.

Why Are Tests Needed When My
Baby Seems Very Healthy?

All infants, even those who seem healthy,
need to be tested because most infants with one
of these disorders show no signs immediately
after birth. When a disorder is found through
early testing, the doctor can give the baby
special care before the disorder begins to affect
the child.

How Do I Recetve the Results?

Parents are usually not notified if the screen was
in a normal range. Your health-care provider
will be informed when the tests are completed
and you may ask them about the results,
Generally, parents are notified only if retesting
or further testing is needed.

It your health-care provider asks you to bring
your baby in for retesting, do so as soon as
possible. Retesting does not necessarily mean
there is anything wrong with your baby. It may
simply mean that another sample must be
obtained.

How Can I Help the Doctor
To Help My Baby?

Make sure the hospital knows how to contact
you when you leave the hospital. If you don't
have a telephone, leave the phone number of a
friend, relative or neighbor. Let your doctor
know immediately if you move soon after the
baby is born. Then, if your baby needs retesting,
the doctor can reach you.

What If I Don't
Want My Baby Screened?

North Dakota law requires that all babies be
tested, unless the parents object for religious
reasons. Discuss refusal procedures with your
health-care provider.

If you are asked to bring your baby in for
re-screening, do so as soon as possible!



