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     January 24, 1974     (OPINION) 
 
     Mr. Richard B. Thomas 
     State's Attorney 
     Ward County Courthouse 
     Minot, ND  58701 
 
     Dear Mr. Thomas: 
 
     This is in reply to your letter of January 14, 1974, with regard to 
     fees to be charged by the sheriff.  You enclose a letter from the 
     sheriff of your county to your office explaining the details of the 
     problem. 
 
     Our attention is called to subsection 2 of section 11-15-07 of the 
     1973 Supplement to the North Dakota Century Code providing: 
 
           "11-15-07.  COUNTY FEES.  The sheriff shall charge and collect 
           the following fees on behalf of the county:> 
 
           * * * 
 
           "For serving a summons, warrant of attachment, order of 
           replevin, injunctional order, citation, or other mesne process 
           of making a return thereon, $5, and for service on each 
           defendant besides the first, $5; 
 
           * * * " 
 
     The first question is stated as: 
 
           "Does this mean that the sheriff shall charge $5 for the 
           service of each document served, or shall several documents 
           served on one person be $5." 
 
     As an example of the practical application of the statute, the 
     question is restated to the effect that if the sheriff's office 
     serves a summons and complaint, warrant of attachment and affidavit 
     for attachment on one defendant, should the charge for county fees be 
     $5 or $15. 
 
     It is further explained that in the pat your sheriff's office has 
     charged separately for each document but since the fees were raised 
     considerably by the last legislature, they are being questioned by 
     attorneys as to what is the correct interpretation according to law. 
 
     We recognize the substantive change in fees provided for in the 
     legislative amendment to which reference is made.  However, there do 
     not appear to be other substantive changes in the language of 
     subsection 2 of section 11-15-07 of the of the North Dakota Century 
     Code in the 1973 amendments. 
 
     We note the classification of the items named as in effect "mesne 



     process".  Service of the summons, of course, obtains jurisdiction of 
     the person so served.  Service of the warrant of attachment obtains 
     jurisdiction of the property involved.  In the example given there 
     are thus two "mesne processes" served for which the fee under the 
     statue would thus be $5 each or a total of $10.  (Under the very 
     ancient definition of the term "mesne" it is perhaps arguable whether 
     a summons is actually "mesne" process, however, under the modern 
     connotations of the term and the manner of use of same in this 
     statute, we feel it is obvious that that is the legislative meaning 
     in this statute.). 
 
     Neither the "complaint" nor the "affidavit for attachment" is 
     mentioned in the statute nor is a fee for same prescribed.  Without 
     going into detail on the application of the North Dakota Rules of 
     Civil Procedure, we should mention that as a matter of practice, the 
     "complaint" or "affidavit of attachment" may or may not be sent along 
     with the "process" (summons or warrant of attachment) to sort of 
     explain and as a part of the "process" with which it is served.  As 
     was the practice prior to the statutory amendment (see copy of letter 
     of this office of November 14, 1963, enclosed herewith), the fee for 
     service of the mesne process - "summons" includes service of the 
     complaint herewith, and the fee for service of the mesne process - 
     "warrant of attachment" includes service of the "affidavit for 
     attachment" therewith. 
 
     We hope the within, foregoing and enclosed will be sufficient for 
     your purposes. 
 
     Sincerely yours, 
 
     Allen I. Olson 
 
     Attorney General 


