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GENERAL INFORMATION

Application forms are available from the local police department, sheriff's
office, or by contacting the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI).

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a Class 1 permit, or
at least 18 years of age to apply for a Class 2 permit.

An applicant for a class 1 license shall successfully participate in a
classroom instruction that sets forth weapon safety rules and the deadly
force law of North Dakota, complete an open book test based upon a
manual, demonstrate familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon, and
complete an actual shooting or certified proficiency exercise. Evidence of
familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon to be concealed may be
satisfied by one of the following:

Certification of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon by an
individual who has been certified by the attorney general, which may include
a law enforcement officer, military or civilian firearms instructor, hunter
safety instructor, or dangerous weapons instructor;

Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm or dangerous weapon
through participation in an organized shooting competition, law enforcement,
military service, or dangerous weapon course of training;

Possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm or dangerous
weapon, concealed or otherwise, which is granted by that state upon
completion of a course described in paragraphs 1 and 2; or

Evidence that the applicant, during military service, was found to be
qualified to operate a firearm or dangerous weapon.

An applicant for a class 2 license is required to successfully complete the
open book test offered for the class 1 license.

The maximum amount a test administrator may charge for the test is $50.

Applications must be signed by the Sheriff of the county in which the
applicant resides. If the applicant lives in a city with a police department, the
application must also be signed by the Chief of Police.

After successful completion of the required testing, submit the completed
application, two color photos (size 1" x 1%") and a check for $45 made
payable to the “North Dakota Office of Attorney General” to your local law
enforcement agency. The agency will review your application, obtain
fingerprints, conduct a local records check, determine your ability to obtain
the permit, and forward the information to the BCI.

BCI performs state and national records checks and processes applicant
fingerprints through the regional Automated Fingerprint Identification System
(AFIS).

Concealed weapon permits may only be issued to those who legally may
possess a firearm or dangerous weapon. Individuals may be prohibited by
state or federal law from owning, possessing, or having a firearm under their
control.

Because a National Instant Check System (NICS) background check is
completed during the application process, the requirement for a NICS check
for each firearm purchase is waived for North Dakota residents with a valid
concealed weapon permit. The NICS number is printed on the permit. The
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Nonresidents:

Reciprocity:

Permit Period:

Renewal Notices:

Address Change:

Lost or Destroyed
Permits:

Renewal Period:

Expired Permits:

Renewal Process:

Application
Processing:

Denials:

weapon dealer may choose to accept the permit as an alternate to a NICS
check. They are not required to use it as an alternative.

Individuals who are not residents of North Dakota may apply for a North
Dakota concealed weapon permit, but cannot use the permit as an alternate
to a NICS check when purchasing firearms.

North Dakota has “reciprocity” with some, but not all, other states. This
means that a North Dakota concealed weapon permit is valid while in those
states, and permits from those states are recognized as valid in North
Dakota. BCI maintains a list of states with which North Dakota has
reciprocity, online at www.ag.nd.gov on the BCI Concealed Weapons page.

Concealed weapon permits are valid for a period of three years.

A renewal notice will be sent to the mailing address we have on file prior to
the expiration date.

Permit holders are required to submit a change of address in writing to the
BCI within 30 days after an address change. The request must include
name, permit number, old address, and new address. Keeping address
information up-to-date is important because renewal notices are sent to the
mailing address the BCI has on file.

If a permit is lost or destroyed, a replacement may be obtained from BCI.
Please send a written request to the BCI indicating the permit holder's
name, address, date of birth, and the reason a replacement is needed. Two
1" x 1 ¥ photographs of the permit holder must also be enclosed.

The renewal process may begin up to 90 days prior to permit expiration and
up to 90 days after expiration. If a permit holder fails to begin the renewal
process within the 90-day grace period after the expiration date, the
individual may not “renew” the permit. They must re-apply by taking the
written test, getting fingerprinted, etc.

If your permit has expired, do not carry concealed! You must be able to
produce a valid concealed weapon permit upon demand at all times while
carrying concealed. If your permit has expired, it is not a valid permit.

Licenses issued before August 1, 2009, regardless of the age of the license
holder, convert to a class 2 license upon renewal and no additional testing is
required. No additional testing is required to renew a class 2 concealed
weapons license. A classl license may be renewed upon successful
completion of the class 1 requirements within one year before submission of
the application for renewal. A license issued under this section before
August 1, 2009, and a class 2 license may be upgraded to a class 1 license
upon successful completion of the class 1 requirements and satisfaction of
the age and other application requirements.

State law provides that the Sheriff is required to process applications within
thirty days. If the applicant lives within a city and that city has a police
department, the Chief of Police’s signature is required. The police
department must process the application within ten working days of receipt
by the agency. The BCI must process the application and make a
determination within thirty days of receipt from the forwarding agency.

A concealed weapon permit application may be denied for a variety of
reasons including: if the applicant is prohibited by state or federal law from
possessing any weapon; if the applicant fails to provide a valid reason to
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Revocations:

possess a concealed weapon; if the application is not complete; if the
applicant made a material false statement on the application; and for any
good and valid reason that has a direct bearing on the applicant’s fitness to
carry and possess a concealed weapon.

Once issued, a concealed weapon permit may be revoked if an individual
becomes prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm, or if
another valid reason to revoke a permit exists. Examples include: a criminal
violation while the permit holder was in the possession of a concealed
weapon, a conviction of any weapons law, false statements on the
application, etc.



STATE LAWS

CHAPTER 62.1-01 DEFINITIONS - GENERAL PROVISIONS

62.1-01-01. General definitions. As used in this title, unless the context otherwise requires:

1.

10.

11.

"Dangerous weapon" includes any switchblade or gravity knife, machete, scimitar, stiletto, sword,
dagger, or knife with a blade of five inches [12.7 centimeters] or more; any throwing star, nunchaku,
or other martial arts weapon; any billy, blackjack, sap, bludgeon, cudgel, metal knuckles, or sand
club; any slungshot; any bow and arrow, crossbow, or spear; any stun gun; any weapon that will
expel, or is readily capable of expelling, a projectile by the action of a spring, compressed air, or
compressed gas including any such weapon, loaded or unloaded, commonly referred to as a BB
gun, air rifle, or CO2 gun; and any projector of a bomb or any object containing or capable of
producing and emitting any noxious liquid, gas, or substance.

"Direct supervision of an adult” means that an adult is present in such close proximity so as to be
capable of observing and directing the actions of the individual supervised.

"Firearm" or "weapon" means any device which will expel, or is readily capable of expelling, a
projectile by the action of an explosive and includes any such device, loaded or unloaded,
commonly referred to as a pistol, revolver, rifle, gun, machine gun, shotgun, bazooka, or cannon.

"Gaming site" means any room or premises licensed by the attorney general or by a city or county
governing body to conduct legal gaming operations.

"Government building" means a building which is owned, possessed, or used by or leased to the
state of North Dakota, or any of its political subdivisions.

"Handgun" means any firearm that is not designed to be fired from the shoulder, which has a barrel
less than sixteen inches [40.64 centimeters] long, and which is capable of firing, by the energy of an
explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge, an exposed projectile through a rifled bore. The term includes
the Thompson contender forty-five caliber single-shot center-fire with a pistol grip or similar firearm,
if in compliance with the National Firearms Act [26 U.S.C. 5801-5872].

"Law enforcement officer" means a public servant authorized by law or by a government agency or
branch to enforce the law and to conduct or engage in investigations or prosecutions for violations
of law.

"Machine gun, submachine gun, or fully automatic rifle" means a firearm, mechanism, or instrument
not requiring that the trigger be pressed for each shot, and having a reservoir, belt, or other means
of storing and carrying ammunition which can be loaded into the firearm, mechanism, or instrument
and fired therefrom at a rate of five or more shots to the second.

"Plain view" means the handgun is placed in such a location or carried in such a position as to be
easily discernible by the ordinary observation of a passerby. In a motor vehicle, this includes being
placed on the seat, dashboard, or in a gunrack as long as the handgun is not covered or is in any
other way concealed from view.

"Rifle" means any firearm designed or redesigned, made or remade, and intended to be fired from
the shoulder and using the energy of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to fire only a single
projectile through a rifled bore for each pull of the trigger.

"Secured" means the firearm is closed into the trunk or nonpassenger part of the vehicle; placed
into a closed and secure carrying device; rendered inoperative by the use of a trigger, hammer,
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

cylinder, slide, or barrel-locking device that renders the firearm incapable of firing until the device is
unlocked and removed; or so disassembled or disabled as to be rendered incapable of firing.

"Short-barreled rifle" means a rifle having one or more barrels less than sixteen inches [40.64
centimeters] in length and any firearm made from a rifle, whether by alteration, modification, or
otherwise, if the firearm, as modified, has an overall length of less than twenty-six inches [66.04
centimeters].

"Short-barreled shotgun™ means a shotgun having one or more barrels less than eighteen inches
[45.72 centimeters] in length and any firearm made from a shotgun, whether by alteration,
modification, or otherwise, if the firearm, as modified, has an overall length of less than twenty-six
inches [66.04 centimeters].

"Shotgun" means a firearm designed or redesigned, made or remade, and intended to be fired with
one hand below or behind and one hand in front of the breach, which uses the energy of the
explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire through a smooth or a rifled bore either a number of ball
shot or a single projectile for each single pull of the trigger.

"Silencer" means any device for or attached to any firearm which will silence or deaden the sound
or natural report of the firearm when it is discharged.

"Unloaded" means the chamber of the firearm does not contain a loaded shell. If the firearm is a
revolver, then none of the chambers in the cylinder may contain a loaded shell. Handguns with a
removable magazine or clip must have the magazine or clip removed from the firearm if the
magazine or clip contains any loaded shells.

62.1-01-02. Forfeiture of dangerous weapon or firearm by person arrested and convicted of
crime. Any firearm or dangerous weapon used or possessed while in the commission of a felony or a
misdemeanor involving violence or intimidation must be seized and, upon conviction and by motion,
forfeited to the jurisdiction in which the arrest was made or the jurisdiction in which the charge arose.
Except as provided in chapter 29-01 for stolen property, the forfeited firearm or dangerous weapon may

be,

pursuant to court order, sold at public auction, sold or traded to other law enforcement agencies or

authorized firearm dealers, retained for use, or destroyed.

62.1-01-03. Limitation on authority of political subdivision regarding firearms. No political
subdivision, including home rule cities or counties, may enact any ordinance relating to the purchase,
sale, ownership, transfer of ownership, registration, or licensure of firearms and ammunition which is
more restrictive than state law. All such existing ordinances are void.



CHAPTER 62.1-02 POSSESSION OF WEAPONS
62.1-02-01. Persons who are not to possess firearms - Penalty.

1. A person who has been convicted anywhere of a felony offense involving violence or intimidation in
violation of chapters 12.1-16 through 12.1-25 or an equivalent felony offense of another state or the
federal government is prohibited from owning a firearm or having one in possession or under
control from the date of conviction and continuing for a period of ten years after the date of
conviction or the date of release from incarceration, parole, or probation, whichever is latest.

2. A person who has been convicted anywhere of a felony offense of this or another state or the
federal government not provided for in subsection 1 or who has been convicted of a class A
misdemeanor offense involving violence or intimidation in violation of chapters 12.1-16 through
12.1-25 or an equivalent offense of another state or the federal government and the offense was
committed while using or possessing a firearm, a dangerous weapon, or, as defined in subsections
7 and 8 of section 12.1-01-04, a destructive device or an explosive, is prohibited from owning a
firearm or having one in possession or under control from the date of conviction and continuing for a
period of five years after the date of conviction or the date of release from incarceration, parole, or
probation, whichever is latest.

3. A person who is or has ever been diagnosed and confined or committed to a hospital or other
institution in this state or elsewhere by a court of competent jurisdiction, other than a person who
has had the petition that provided the basis for the diagnosis, confinement, or commitment
dismissed under section 25-03.1-17, 25-03.1-18, or 25-03.1-19, or equivalent statutes of another
jurisdiction, as a mentally ill person as defined in section 25-03.1-02, or as a mentally deficient
person as defined in section 25-01-01, is prohibited from purchasing a firearm or having one in
possession or under control. This limitation does not apply to a person who has not suffered from
the disability for the previous three years.

4. A person under the age of eighteen years may not possess a handgun except that such a person,
while under the direct supervision of an adult, may possess a handgun for the purposes of firearm
safety training, target shooting, or hunting. A person who violates subsection 1 or 2 is guilty of a
class C felony, and a person who violates subsection 3 or 4 is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. For
the purposes of this section, "conviction" means a determination that the person committed one of
the above-mentioned crimes upon a verdict of guilt, a plea of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere
even though:

1. The court suspended execution of sentence in accordance with subsection 3 of section
12.1-32-02;

2. The court deferred imposition of sentence in accordance with subsection 4 of section 12.1-
32-02;

3. The court placed the person on probation;

4. The person's conviction has been reduced in accordance with subsection 9 of section 12.1-
32-02 or section 12.1-32-07.1;

5. Sentence dispositions, sentence reductions, or offense determinations equivalent to this
section were imposed or granted by a court, board, agency, or law of another state or the
federal government; or



6. The person committed an offense equivalent to an offense described in subsection 1 or 2
when that person was subject to juvenile adjudication or proceedings and a determination of
a court under chapter 27-20 or of a court of another state or the federal government was
made that the person committed the delinquent act or offense.

62.1-02-02. Sale of handgun regulated - Penalty. No person may transfer a handgun to any person
who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is a person prohibited by section 62.1-02-
01 from possessing a firearm. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

62.1-02-03. Possession or sale of short-barreled rifle or shotgun - Penalty - Application.

A person who possesses, obtains, receives, sells, or uses a short-barreled rifle or a short-barreled
shotgun is guilty of a class C felony. This section does not apply to a law enforcement officer who
possesses, obtains, receives, sells, or uses a short-barreled rifle or a short-barreled shotgun in the
course of or in connection with the officer's official duties, to a member of the armed forces of the
United States or national guard, organized reserves, state defense forces, or state guard organizations
who possesses or uses a short-barreled rifle or short-barreled shotgun issued to the member by that
organization and while on official duty, or to any person who complies with the National Firearms Act
[26 U.S.C. 5801-5872].

62.1-02-04. Possession of firearm or dangerous weapon in liquor establishment or gaming site
prohibited - Penalty - Exceptions. Any person who enters or remains in that part of the establishment
that is set aside for the retail sale in an establishment engaged in the retail sale of alcoholic beverages
or used as a gaming site while in the possession of a firearm or dangerous weapon is guilty of a class A
misdemeanor. This section does not apply to:

1. A law enforcement officer.
2. The proprietor.
3. The proprietor's employee.

4. A designee of the proprietor when the designee is displaying an unloaded firearm or dangerous
weapon as a prize or sale item in a raffle or auction.

5. Private security personnel while on duty for the purpose of delivering or receiving moneys used
at the liquor establishment or gaming site.

62.1-02-05. Possession of a firearm at a public gathering - Penalty - Application.

1. A person who possesses a firearm at a public gathering is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. For
the purpose of this section, "public gathering” includes athletic or sporting events, schools or
school functions, churches or church functions, political rallies or functions, musical concerts,
and individuals in publicly owned parks where hunting is not allowed by proclamation and
publicly owned or operated buildings. The term "public gathering” does not apply to a state or
federal park.

2. This section does not apply to law enforcement officers; members of the armed forces of the
United States or national guard, organized reserves, state defense forces, or state guard
organizations, when on duty; competitors participating in organized sport shooting events; gun
and antique shows; participants using blank cartridge firearms at sporting or theatrical events;
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any firearms carried in a temporary residence or motor vehicle; students and instructors at
hunter safety classes; or private security personnel while on duty. In addition, a municipal court
judge licensed to practice law in this state, a district court judge, a staff member of the Office of
Attorney General, and a retired North Dakota law enforcement officer are exempt from the
prohibition and penalty in subsection 1 if the individual is otherwise licensed to carry a firearm
under section 62.1-04-03 and maintains the same level of firearms proficiency as is required by
the peace officer standards and training board for law enforcement officers. A local law
enforcement agency shall issue a certificate of compliance under this section to an individual
who is proficient.

3. This section does not prevent any political subdivision from enacting an ordinance which is less
restrictive than this section relating to the possession of firearms at a public gathering. Such an
ordinance supersedes this section within the jurisdiction of the political subdivision.

62.1-02-06. Discharge of firearm within city - Penalty - Application. A person who discharges a
firearm within a city is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. This section does not apply to the lawful
discharge of firearms by law enforcement officers, by citizens in defense of person or property, or by
participants in lawful activities in which discharge of firearms is a recognized part of the activity
including shooting galleries and ranges.

62.1-02-07. Use of firearm by certain minors prohibited - Penalty. Any parent, guardian, or other
person having charge or custody of any minor under fifteen years of age who permits that minor to
carry or use in public any firearm of any description loaded with powder and projectile, except when the
minor is under the direct supervision of the parent, guardian, or other person authorized by the parent
or guardian, is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

62.1-02-08. lllegal firearms, ammunition, or explosive materials business.

1. A person is guilty of an offense if the person supplies a firearm, ammunition, or explosive
material to, or procures or receives a firearm, ammunition, or explosive material for, a person
prohibited by this title from receiving it if the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to
believe that such person is prohibited by section 62.1-02-01 from receiving or possessing it.

2. The offense is a class C felony if the actor:
a. Was not licensed or otherwise authorized by law to handle, transfer, or engage in
transactions with respect to the firearm, destructive device, or explosive material; or

b. Engaged in the forbidden transaction under circumstances manifesting the actor's
readiness to supply or procure on other occasions in disregard of lawful restrictions.

Otherwise the offense is a class A misdemeanor.

62.1-02-09. Possession of explosive and destructive device in government building - Penalty. A
person, except for a law enforcement officer while on official business, is guilty of a class C felony if the
person possesses an explosive or destructive device in a government building without the written
consent of the government agency or person responsible for the management of the building.



62.1-02-10. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle - Penalty - Exceptions. No person may keep or carry
a loaded firearm in or on any motor vehicle in this state. Any person violating this section is guilty of a
class B misdemeanor. This prohibition does not apply to:

1.

A member of the armed forces of the United States or national guard, organized reserves, state
defense forces, or state guard organizations while possessing the firearm issued to the member
by the organization and while on official duty.

A law enforcement officer, except while the officer is engaged in hunting or trapping activities
with a rifle or shotgun.

Any person possessing a valid North Dakota concealed weapons license or a valid license
issued by another state authorizing the person to carry a dangerous weapon concealed if that
state permits a holder of a valid North Dakota concealed weapons license to carry a dangerous
weapon concealed in that state without obtaining a similar license from that state, except while
that person is in the field engaged in hunting or trapping activities.

Any person in the field engaged in lawful hunting or trapping of nongame species or fur-bearing
animals.

A security guard or private investigator licensed to carry firearms by the attorney general.

Any person possessing a valid special permit issued pursuant to section 20.1-02-05.

62.1-02-11. Possessing explosive prohibited - Exception - Penalty. No person may have in
custody, possession, or control, any nitroglycerin, dynamite, or any other dangerous or violent
explosive unless the explosive is carried in the prosecution of or to effect a lawful and legitimate
purpose. Any person violating this section is guilty of a class C felony.

62.1-02-12. Resident may purchase rifle or shotgun in contiguous state - Application -
Definitions. Repealed by S.L. 2005, ch. 598, § 2.



CHAPTER 62.1-03 HANDGUNS
62.1-03-01. Carrying handgun - Restrictions - Exceptions.

1. A handgun may be carried by a person not prohibited from possessing one by section 62.1-
02-01 or any other state statute, in a manner not prohibited by section 62.1-02-10 if:

a. Between the hours of one hour before sunrise and one hour after sunset, the handgun is
carried unloaded and either in plain view or secured.

b. Between the hours of one hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise, the handgun is
carried unloaded and secured.

2. The restrictions provided in subdivisions a and b of subsection 1 do not apply to:

a. Any person possessing a valid North Dakota concealed weapons license or a valid
license issued by another state authorizing the person to carry a dangerous weapon
concealed if that state permits a holder of a valid North Dakota concealed weapons
license to carry a dangerous weapon concealed in that state without obtaining a similar
license from that state.

b. Any person on that person's land, or in that person's permanent or temporary residence,
or fixed place of business.

c. Any person while lawfully engaged in target shooting.

d. Any person while in the field engaging in the lawful pursuit of hunting or trapping.
However, nothing in this exception authorizes the carrying of a loaded handgun in a
motor vehicle.

e. Any person permitted by law to possess a handgun while carrying the handgun
unloaded and in a secure wrapper from the place of purchase to that person's home or
place of business, or to a place of repair or back from those locations.

f.  Any North Dakota law enforcement officer.

g. Any law enforcement officer of any other state or political subdivision thereof if on official
duty within this state.

h. Any armed security guard or investigator as authorized by the attorney general when on
duty or going to or from duty.

i. Any member of the armed forces of the United States when on duty or going to or from
duty and when carrying the handgun issued to the member.

j- Any member of the national guard, organized reserves, state defense forces, or state
guard organizations, when on duty or going to or from duty and when carrying the
handgun issued to the member by the organization.

k. Any officer or employee of the United States duly authorized to carry a handgun.

[.  Any person engaged in manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in handguns or the agent or
representative of such person possessing, using, or carrying a handgun in the usual or
ordinary course of such business.
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m. Any common carrier, but only when carrying the handgun as part of the cargo in the
usual cargo carrying portion of the vehicle.

62.1-03-02. Selling handgun to minors prohibited - Penalty. Any person who sells, barters, hires,
lends, or gives any handgun to any minor is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. This section does not
prohibit a person from lending or giving a handgun to a minor if the minor will be using the handgun
under the direct supervision of an adult and for the purpose of firearm safety training, target shooting, or
hunting.

62.1-03-03. Copy of federal license submitted to law enforcement officials. A retail dealer licensed
to sell handguns by the federal government shall send a copy of the license, within seven days after
receiving it, to the chief of police of the city and the sheriff of the county in which the dealer is licensed
to sell handguns.

62.1-03-04. False information prohibited. No person, in purchasing or otherwise securing delivery of
a handgun or in applying for a license to carry the handgun concealed, may give false information or
offer false evidence of the person's identity.

62.1-03-05. Prohibited alterations in handgun. No person may change, alter, remove, or obliterate
any mark of identification on a handgun, such as the name of the maker, model, or manufacturer's
number or knowingly possess a handgun on which such alterations have been made. Possession of
any handgun upon which any such identification mark has been changed, altered, removed, or
obliterated creates a rebuttable presumption that the possessor made the alterations.

62.1-03-06. General penalty. Any person who violates any provision of this chapter, for which another
penalty is not specifically provided, is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
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CHAPTER 62.1-04 CONCEALED WEAPONS

62.1-04-01. Definition of concealed. A firearm or dangerous weapon is concealed if it is carried in
such a manner as to not be discernible by the ordinary observation of a passerby. There is no
requirement that there be absolute invisibility of the firearm or dangerous weapon, merely that it not be
ordinarily discernible. A firearm or dangerous weapon is considered concealed if it is not secured, and
is worn under clothing or carried in a bundle that is held or carried by the individual, or transported in a
vehicle under the individual's control or direction and available to the individual, including beneath the
seat or in a glove compartment. A firearm or dangerous weapon is not considered concealed if it is:

1. Carried in a belt holster which is wholly or substantially visible or carried in a case designed for
carrying a firearm or dangerous weapon and which is wholly or substantially visible;

2. Locked in a closed trunk or luggage compartment of a motor vehicle;

3. Carried in the field while lawfully engaged in hunting, trapping, or target shooting, whether
visible or not; or

4. Carried by any person permitted by law to possess a handgun unloaded and in a secure
wrapper from the place of purchase to that person's home or place of business, or to a place of
repair, or back from those locations.

5. A bow and arrow, an unloaded rifle or shotgun, or an unloaded weapon that will expel, or is
readily capable of expelling, a projectile by the action of a spring, compressed air, or
compressed gas including any such weapon commonly referred to as a BB gun, air rifle, or CO:2
gun, while carried in a motor vehicle.

62.1-04-02. Carrying concealed firearms or dangerous weapons prohibited. No person, other than
a law enforcement officer, may carry any firearm or dangerous weapon concealed unless the person is
licensed to do so or exempted pursuant to this chapter. For purposes of this chapter, dangerous
weapon does not mean a spray or aerosol containing CS (ortho-chlorobenzamalonitrile), CN (alpha-
chloroacetophenone), or other irritating agent intended for use in the defense of a person.

62.1-04-03. License to carry a firearm or dangerous weapon concealed.

3. The director of the bureau of criminal investigation shall issue a license to carry a firearm or
dangerous weapon concealed upon review of an application submitted to the director by a
resident or nonresident of the United States if the following criteria are met:

a. The applicant is at least twenty-one years of age for a class 1 license or at least
eighteen years of age for a class 2 license.

b. The applicant has a good and valid reason for carrying a firearm or dangerous weapon
concealed, including self-protection, protection of others, or work-related needs.

c. The applicant is not a person specified in section 62.1-02-01.

d. The applicant has the written approval for the issuance of a license from the sheriff of
the applicant's county of residence, and, if the city has one, the chief of police or a
designee of the city in which the applicant resides. The approval by the sheriff may not
be given until the applicant has successfully completed a background investigation in
that county and has successfully completed the testing procedure conducted by a
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certified firearm or dangerous weapon instructor. The attorney general may certify a
firearm or dangerous weapon instructor based upon criteria and guidelines prescribed by
the director of the bureau of criminal investigation.

The applicant satisfactorily completes the bureau of criminal investigation application
form and has successfully passed a background investigation or criminal records check
conducted by that agency. To pass a background investigation, an application shall
provide all documentation relating to any court-ordered treatment or commitment for
mental health or alcohol or substance abuse or incidents of domestic violence. The
applicant shall provide the director of the bureau of criminal investigation written
authorizations for disclosure of the applicant’s mental health and alcohol or substance
abuse evaluation and treatment records.

The applicant is not prohibited under federal law from owning, possessing, or having a
firearm under that person's control.

4. The attorney general shall off class 1 and class 2 licenses to carry a firearm or dangerous
weapon concealed pursuant to the following requirements:

a. An applicant for a class 1 license shall successfully participate in a classroom instruction

b.

that sets forth weapon safety rules and the deadly force law of North Dakota, complete
an open book test based upon a manual, demonstrate familiarity with a firearm or
dangerous weapon, and complete an actual shooting or certified proficiency exercise.
Evidence of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon to be concealed may be
satisfied by one of the following:

(1) Certification of familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon by an individual
who has been certified by the attorney general, which may include a law
enforcement officer, military or civilian firearms instructor, hunter safety
instructor, or dangerous weapon instructor;

(2) Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm or dangerous weapon through
participation in an organized shooting competition, law enforcement, military
service, or dangerous weapon course of training;

(3) Possession of a license from another state to carry a firearm or dangerous
weapon, concealed or otherwise, which is granted by that state upon completion
of a course described in paragraphs 1 and 2; or

(4) Evidence that the applicant, during military service was found to be qualified to
operate a firearm or dangerous weapon.

An applicant for a class 2 license is required to successfully complete the open book test
offered for the class 1 license.

Licenses issued before August 1, 2009, regardless of the age of the license holder,
convert to a class 2 license upon renewal and no additional testing is required. No
additional testing is required to renew a class 2 concealed weapons license. A class 1
license may be renewed upon successful completion of the class 1 requirements within
one year before submission of the application for renewal. A license issued under this
section before August 1, 2009, and a class 2 license may be upgraded to a class 1 upon
successful completion of the class 1 requirements and satisfaction of the age
requirement.

3. The sheriff is required to process the application within thirty days after the completion of the
testing portion unless the application is for renewal of a license and in such case the application
must be processed within thirty days after its receipt by the sheriff, the chief of police is required
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to process the application within ten working days of receipt by the agency, and the bureau of
criminal investigation is required to process the application and make a determination within
thirty days of receipt from the forwarding agency.

The license fee for a concealed weapons license is forty-five dollars, which must be credited to
the attorney general’s operating fund. The license fee must be paid before the license is issued
by the director of the bureau of criminal investigation.

The director shall prescribe the form of the application and license, which must include the
name, address, description, a photograph, and the signature of the individual. The application
form must require sufficient information to properly conduct a background investigation and be
accompanied by two sets of classifiable fingerprints. The two sets of classifiable fingerprints are
not required for a renewal of a concealed weapons license. The license is valid for three years.
The license must be prepared in triplicate, and the original must be delivered to the licensee, the
duplicate must be sent by mail, within seven days after issuance, to the sheriff of the county in
which the applicant resides, and the triplicate must be preserved for six years by the director. In
those cases in which the licensee resides in a city, an additional copy of the license must be
made and sent by mail, within seven days after issuance, to the chief of police of the city in
which the applicant resides. The individual shall notify the director of the bureau of criminal
investigation of any change of address or any other material fact which would affect the
restrictions on or the need for the license.

The director of the bureau of criminal investigation may deny an application or revoke or cancel
a license after it has been granted for any material misstatement by an applicant in an
application for the license or any violation of this title.

The applicant may appeal a denial or revocation of this license to the district court of Burleigh
County.

Information collected from an applicant under this section is confidential information. However,
the information may be disclosed:

a. To a governmental agency or court for a law enforcement purpose, including the
investigation, prosecution, or punishment of a violation of law.

b. To a court to aid in a decision concerning sentence, probation, or release pending trial or
appeal.

c. Pursuant to a court order or a judicial, legislative, or administrative agency subpoena
issued in this state.

9. The attorney general may adopt rules to carry out this title.

62.1-04-03.1. Reciprocity. A person who has a valid license issued by another state to carry a
concealed firearm or dangerous weapon in that state and whose state grants to residents of this state
the right to carry a concealed firearm or dangerous weapon without requiring a separate license to
carry a concealed firearm or dangerous weapon issued by that state may carry, subject to the
provisions of this state's law, a concealed firearm or dangerous weapon in this state, and the other
state's license is valid in this state.

62.1-04-04. Producing license on demand. Every person while carrying a concealed firearm or
dangerous weapon for which a license to carry concealed is required, shall have on one's person the
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license issued by this or another state and shall give it to any law enforcement officer for an inspection
upon demand by the officer. The failure of any person to give the license to the officer is prima facie
evidence that the person is illegally carrying a firearm or dangerous weapon concealed.

62.1-04-05. Penalty. Any person who violates this chapter is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
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CHAPTER 62.1-05 MACHINE GUNS, AUTOMATIC RIFLES,
SILENCERS, BOMBS

62.1-05-01. Possession and sale of machine guns, automatic rifles, silencers, and bombs -
Penalty - Forfeiture. No person may purchase, sell, have, or possess a machine gun, fully automatic
rifle, silencer, or bomb loaded with explosives or poisonous or dangerous gases, or any other federally
licensed firearm or dangerous weapon unless that person has complied with the National Firearms Act
[26 U.S.C. 5801-5872].

Any federal licensee who purchases, sells, has, or possesses those items for the licensee's protection
or for sale must forward a copy of the licensee's federal license along with the required weapons
transfer form to the licensee's local county sheriff and to the chief of the bureau of criminal investigation
within five days of the receipt of those forms.

A person who violates this section is guilty of a class C felony. Upon arrest of that person, the firearm or
dangerous weapon must be seized. Upon conviction of the person and motion to the court in which the
conviction occurred, the firearm or dangerous weapon must be forfeited to the jurisdiction in which the
arrest was made. The firearm or dangerous weapon may be sold at public auction, retained for use, or
destroyed pursuant to the court's order. If a qualified local program as defined under section 12.1-32-
02.2 has paid a reward for information that resulted in forfeiture of the item and the item has been sold,
the jurisdiction shall, after payment of expenses for forfeiture and sale, repay the qualified local
program for the reward that it has paid.

62.1-05-02. Persons exempt from chapter. This chapter does not apply to:
1. The authorized agent and a servant of a person who has a license to purchase, sell, have, or
possess a machine gun, submachine gun, fully automatic rifle, silencer, or a bomb loaded with

explosives or poisonous or dangerous gases.

2. Any officer or member of a duly authorized military organization while on official duty and using
the firearm or dangerous weapon issued to the officer or member by that organization.

3. A North Dakota law enforcement officer.
4. Any federal officer authorized by the federal government to have or possess a machine gun,

submachine gun, fully automatic rifle, silencer, or bomb loaded with explosives or poisonous or
dangerous gases.
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CHAPTER 12.1-05 JUSTIFICATION - EXCUSE -
AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES

12.1-05-01. Justification.

Except as otherwise expressly provided, justification or excuse under this chapter is a defense.

If a person is justified or excused in using force against another, but he recklessly or negligently
injures or creates a risk of injury to other persons, the justifications afforded by this chapter are
unavailable in a prosecution for such recklessness or negligence.

That conduct may be justified or excused within the meaning of this chapter does not abolish or
impair any remedy for such conduct which is available in any civil action.

12.1-05-02. Execution of public duty.

1.

Conduct engaged in by a public servant in the course of the person's official duties is justified when
it is required or authorized by law.

A person who has been directed by a public servant to assist that public servant is justified in using
force to carry out the public servant's direction, unless the action directed by the public servant is
plainly unlawful.

A person is justified in using force upon another to effect that person's arrest or prevent that
person's escape when a public servant authorized to make the arrest or prevent the escape is not
available if the other person has committed, in the presence of the actor, any crime which the actor
is justified in using force to prevent, or if the other person has committed a felony involving force or
violence.

Conduct engaged in by an individual at the direction of a public servant, known by that individual to
be a law enforcement officer, to assist in the investigation of a criminal offense is justified unless the
individual knows or has a firm belief, unaccompanied by substantial doubt, that the conduct is not
within the law enforcement officer's official duties or authority. For purposes of this subsection,
conduct "not within the law enforcement officer's official duties or authority" is conduct in which the
law enforcement officer alone could not lawfully engage in that officer's official capacity. When
practicable, permission must be obtained from a parent or guardian of a minor who is under the age
of eighteen years and is neither married nor in the military service of the United States before the
minor may engage in conduct, other than the providing of information, to assist in a criminal
investigation under the direct supervision of a public servant.

12.1-05-03. Self-defense. A person is justified in using force upon another person to defend himself
against danger of imminent unlawful bodily injury, sexual assault, or detention by such other person,
except that:

1.

2.

A person is not justified in using force for the purpose of resisting arrest, execution of process, or
other performance of duty by a public servant under color of law, but excessive force may be
resisted.

A person is not justified in using force if:

a. He intentionally provokes unlawful action by another person to cause bodily injury or death to
such other person; or
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b. He has entered into a mutual combat with another person or is the initial aggressor unless he is
resisting force which is clearly excessive in the circumstances. A person's use of defensive
force after he withdraws from an encounter and indicates to the other person that he has done
so is justified if the latter nevertheless continues or menaces unlawful action.

12.1-05-04. Defense of others. A person is justified in using force upon another person in order to
defend anyone else if:

1. The person defended would be justified in defending himself; and

2. The person coming to the defense has not, by provocation or otherwise, forfeited the right of self-
defense.

12.1-05-05. Use of force by persons with parental, custodial, or similar responsibilities. The use
of force upon another person is justified under any of the following circumstances:

1. Except as provided in section 15.1-19-02, a parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the
care and supervision of a minor, or other person responsible for the care and supervision of a minor
for a special purpose, or a person acting at the direction of any of the foregoing persons, may use
reasonable force upon the minor for the purpose of safeguarding or promoting the minor's welfare,
including prevention and punishment of the minor's misconduct, and the maintenance of proper
discipline. The force may be used for this purpose, whether or not it is "necessary" as required by
subsection 1 of section 12.1-05-07. The force used must not create a substantial risk of death,
serious bodily injury, disfigurement, or gross degradation.

2. A guardian or other person responsible for the care and supervision of an incompetent person, or a
person acting at the direction of the guardian or responsible person, may use reasonable force
upon the incompetent person for the purpose of safeguarding or promoting the incompetent
person's welfare, including the prevention of the incompetent person's misconduct or, when the
incompetent person is in a hospital or other institution for care and custody, for the purpose of
maintaining reasonable discipline in the institution. The force may be used for these purposes,
whether or not it is "necessary" as required by subsection 1 of section 12.1-05-07. The force used
must not create a substantial risk of death, serious bodily injury, disfigurement, or gross
degradation.

3. A person responsible for the maintenance of order in a vehicle, train, vessel, aircraft, or other
carrier, or in a place where others are assembled, or a person acting at the responsible person's
direction, may use force to maintain order.

4. A duly licensed physician, or a person acting at a duly licensed physician's direction, may use force
in order to administer a recognized form of treatment to promote the physical or mental health of a
patient if the treatment is administered:

a. In an emergency;

b. With the consent of the patient, or, if the patient is a minor or an incompetent person, with the
consent of the patient's parent, guardian, or other person entrusted with the patient's care and
supervision; or

c. By order of a court of competent jurisdiction.
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5. A person may use force upon another person, about to commit suicide or suffer serious bodily
injury, to prevent the death or serious bodily injury of such other person.

12.1-05-06. Use of force in defense of premises and property. Force is justified if it is used to
prevent or terminate an unlawful entry or other trespass in or upon premises, or to prevent an unlawful
carrying away or damaging of property, if the person using such force first requests the person against
whom such force is to be used to desist from his interference with the premises or property, except that
a request is not necessary if it would be useless or dangerous to make the request or substantial
damage would be done to the property sought to be protected before the request could effectively be

made.

12.1-05-07. Limits on the use of force - Excessive force - Deadly force.

1. An individual is not justified in using more force than is necessary and appropriate under the
circumstances.

2. Deadly force is justified in the following instances:

a. When it is expressly authorized by law or occurs in the lawful conduct of war.

b. When used in lawful self-defense, or in lawful defense of others, if such force is necessary to

C.

d.

protect the actor or anyone else against death, serious bodily injury, or the commission of a
felony involving violence. The use of deadly force is not justified if it can be avoided, with safety
to the actor and others, by retreat or other conduct involving minimal interference with the
freedom of the individual menaced. An individual seeking to protect another individual must,
before using deadly force, try to cause the other individual to retreat, or otherwise comply with
the requirements of this provision, if safety can be obtained thereby. However, the duty to
retreat or avoid force does not apply under the following circumstances:

(1) A public servant justified in using force in the performance of the public servant's duties
or an individual justified in using force in assisting the public servant need not desist from
the public servant's or individual's efforts because of resistance or threatened resistance by
or on behalf of the other individual against whom the public servant's or individual's action is
directed; and

(2) An individual is not required to retreat within or from that individual's dwelling or place of
work or from an occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-01-01, unless
the individual was the original aggressor or is assailed by another individual who the
individual knows also dwells or works there or who is lawfully in the motor home or travel
trailer.

When used by an individual in possession or control of a dwelling, place of work, or an occupied
motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-01-01, or by an individual who is licensed or
privileged to be there, if the force is necessary to prevent commission of arson, burglary,
robbery, or a felony involving violence upon or in the dwelling, place of work, or occupied motor
home or travel trailer, and the use of force other than deadly force for these purposes would
expose any individual to substantial danger of serious bodily injury.

When used by a public servant authorized to effect arrests or prevent escapes, if the force is

necessary to effect an arrest or to prevent the escape from custody of an individual who has
committed or attempted to commit a felony involving violence, or is attempting to escape by the
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use of a deadly weapon, or has otherwise indicated that the individual is likely to endanger
human life or to inflict serious bodily injury unless apprehended without delay.

When used by a guard or other public servant, if the force is necessary to prevent the escape of
a prisoner from a detention facility, unless the guard or public servant knows that the prisoner is
not an individual as described in subdivision d. A detention facility is any place used for the
confinement, pursuant to a court order, of an individual charged with or convicted of an offense,
charged with being or adjudicated a juvenile delinquent, held for extradition, or otherwise
confined under court order.

When used by a duly licensed physician, or an individual acting at the physician's direction, if
the force is necessary to administer a recognized form of treatment to promote the physical or
mental health of a patient and if the treatment is administered in an emergency; with the
consent of the patient, or, if the patient is a minor or an incompetent person, with the consent of
the patient's parent, guardian, or other person entrusted with the patient's care and supervision;
or by order of a court of competent jurisdiction.

When used by an individual who is directed or authorized by a public servant, and who does not
know that the public servant is not authorized to use deadly force under the circumstances.

12.1-05-07.1. Use of deadly force - Presumption of fear of death or serious bodily injury.

1. An individual is presumed to have held a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious
bodily injury to that individual or another when using deadly force if:

a.

The individual against whom the deadly force was used was in the process of unlawfully and
forcibly entering, or had unlawfully and forcibly entered and remains within a dwelling, place of
work, or occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-01-01, or if the individual
had removed or was attempting to remove another against that individual's will from the
dwelling, place of work, or occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-01-01;
and

The individual who uses deadly force knew or had reason to believe that an unlawful and
forcible entry or unlawful and forcible act was occurring or had occurred.

2. The presumption in subsection 1 may be rebutted by proof beyond a reasonable doubt that the
individual who used the deadly force did not have a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or
serious bodily injury to that individual or another.

3. The presumption in subsection 1 does not apply if the court finds that any of the following have
occurred:

a.

The individual against whom the deadly force is used has the right to be in or is a lawful resident
of the dwelling, place of work, or occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-
01-01, including an owner, lessee, or titleholder, and there is not a temporary or permanent
domestic violence protection order or any other order of no contact against that individual;

The individual removed or sought to be removed is a child or grandchild, or is otherwise in the

lawful custody or under the lawful guardianship of, the individual against whom the deadly force
is used;
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c. The individual who uses deadly force is engaged in the commission of a crime or is using the
dwelling, place of work, or occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined in section 39-01-01
to further the commission of a crime; or

d. The individual against whom the deadly force is used is a law enforcement officer who enters or
attempts to enter a dwelling, place of work, or occupied motor home or travel trailer as defined
in section 39-01-01 in the performance of official duties and the officer provided identification, if
required, in accordance with any applicable law or warrant from a court, or if the individual using
force knew or reasonably should have known that the individual entering or attempting to enter
was a law enforcement officer.

12.1-05-07.2. Immunity from civil liability for justifiable use of force.

1. Anindividual who uses force as permitted under this chapter is immune from civil liability for the use
of the force to the individual against whom force was used or to that individual's estate unless that
individual is a law enforcement officer who was acting in the performance of official duties and the
officer provided identification, if required, in accordance with any applicable law or warrant from a
court, or if the individual using force knew or reasonably should have known that the individual was
a law enforcement officer.

2. The court shall award reasonable attorney's fees and court costs and disbursements incurred by
the defendant in defense of any civil action brought by a plaintiff if the court finds that the defendant
is immune from civil liability as provided in subsection 1.

12.1-05-08. Excuse. A person's conduct is excused if he believes that the facts are such that his
conduct is necessary and appropriate for any of the purposes which would establish a justification or
excuse under this chapter, even though his belief is mistaken. However, if his belief is negligently or
recklessly held, it is not an excuse in a prosecution for an offense for which negligence or recklessness,
as the case may be, suffices to establish culpability. Excuse under this section is a defense or
affirmative defense according to which type of defense would be established had the facts been as the
person believed them to be.

12.1-05-09. Mistake of law. Except as otherwise expressly provided, a person's good faith belief that

conduct does not constitute a crime is an affirmative defense if he acted in reasonable reliance upon a

statement of the law contained in:

1. A statute or other enactment.

2. Ajudicial decision, opinion, order, or judgment.

3. An administrative order or grant of permission.

4. An official interpretation of the public servant or body charged by law with responsibility for the
interpretation, administration, or enforcement of the law defining the crime.

12.1-05-10. Duress.

1. In a prosecution for any offense, it is an affirmative defense that the actor engaged in the proscribed
conduct because he was compelled to do so by threat of imminent death or serious bodily injury to

himself or to another. In a prosecution for an offense which does not constitute a felony, it is an
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affirmative defense that the actor engaged in the proscribed conduct because he was compelled to
do so by force or threat of force. Compulsion within the meaning of this section exists only if the
force, threat, or circumstances are such as would render a person of reasonable firmness incapable
of resisting the pressure.

The defense defined in this section is not available to a person who, by voluntarily entering into a
criminal enterprise, or otherwise, willfully placed himself in a situation in which it was foreseeable
that he would be subjected to duress. The defense is also unavailable if he was negligent in placing
himself in such a situation, whenever negligence suffices to establish culpability for the offense
charged.

12.1-05-11. Entrapment.

1.

2.

It is an affirmative defense that the defendant was entrapped into committing the offense.

A law enforcement agent perpetrates an entrapment if, for the purpose of obtaining evidence of the
commission of a crime, the law enforcement agent induces or encourages and, as a direct result,
causes another person to engage in conduct constituting such a crime by employing methods of
persuasion or inducement which create a substantial risk that such crime will be committed by a
person other than one who is ready to commit it. Conduct merely affording a person an opportunity
to commit an offense does not constitute entrapment.

In this section "law enforcement agent" includes personnel of federal and local law enforcement
agencies as well as state agencies, and any person cooperating with such an agency.

12.1-05-12. Definitions. In this chapter:

1.

"Deadly force" means force which a person uses with the intent of causing, or which he knows
creates a substantial risk of causing, death or serious bodily injury. A threat to cause death or
serious bodily injury, by the production of a weapon or otherwise, so long as the actor's intent is
limited to creating an apprehension that he will use deadly force if necessary, does not constitute
deadly force.

"Dwelling" means any building or structure, though movable or temporary, or a portion thereof,
which is for the time being a person's home or place of lodging.

"Force" means physical action, threat, or menace against another, and includes confinement.
"Premises" means all or any part of a building or real property, or any structure, vehicle, or

watercraft used for overnight lodging of persons, or used by persons for carrying on business
therein.
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RECIPROCITY

North Dakota Century Code 8 62.1-04-03.1 provides that if another state recognizes the North Dakota
concealed weapon permit, then North Dakota will recognize that other state’s permit. The Bureau of
Criminal Investigation maintains a list of reciprocity states. The information is available online at
www.ag.nd.gov, on the Bureau of Criminal Investigations Concealed Weapons page, or by contacting
the BCI office.

It is important to realize that individuals must be familiar with and obey the laws of the state in which
they are traveling. While North Dakota state law allows for concealed weapon permit reciprocity with
other states, it is the ultimate responsibility of the permit holder to contact the state in which they would
like to carry a concealed weapon, to insure that carrying the weapon concealed in that other state is, in
fact, lawful.

23


http://www.ag.nd.gov/�

FEDERAL PROHIBITIONS ON POSSESSION OF
WEAPONS

62.1-04-03 (1)(e) requires that concealed weapon permits may not be issued to any applicant
prohibited under federal law from owning, possessing, or having a firearm under that person’s control.
Because federal law may change after the printing and distribution of this manual, it is the responsibility
of the concealed weapon permit holder or applicant to be familiar with, and to comply with, all federal
laws regarding the purchase, possession, and use of firearms and dangerous weapons.

At the printing of this manual, persons prohibited from receiving firearms under Title 18 USC 922(g)(1)
through (9) and (n) are those who:

(1) have been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year;

(2) are fugitives from justice;

(3) are unlawful users of or addicted to any controlled substance;

(4) have been adjudicated as a mental defective or who have been committed to a mental
institution;

(5) are illegal or unlawful aliens;

(6) have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;

(7) have renounced their US citizenship;

(8) are the subject of a protection or restraining order;

(9) have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence;

(n) are under indictment or information for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year.

ltems (1 and n): in many states this refers to “felony” offenses but it can also apply to specific
misdemeanors in some states.

As indicated in 62.1-02-01, if an individual has been convicted of a felony in North Dakota, firearm
rights are restored after a 5 or 10 year period depending on the type of crime. If convicted of a
misdemeanor A offense involving violence and intimidation and a firearm, firearm rights are
restored after 5 years.

If an individual has been convicted of a felony or disqualifying misdemeanor in a state other than
North Dakota, and that state has not restored firearm rights, the individual is federally prohibited.

If an individual is under indictment or information (has been formally accused) of a crime that is
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year, the individual is federally prohibited.

Iltem (2): If a person has an active misdemeanor or felony warrant in any state, that person is federally
prohibited.

Iltem (3): A person is federally prohibited, if that person:

(1) has been convicted for use or possession of a controlled substance within the past
year; or

(2) has multiple arrests for use or possession of a controlled substance within the past
five years and the most recent arrest occurred within the past year; or

3) has been arrested for use or possession of a controlled substance within the past
year and the substance tested positive for a controlled substance.
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Item (4): If there has been a determination by a court, board, commission or other lawful authority
that a person, as a result of marked subnormal intelligence, or mental illness, incompetence, condition
or disease, (1) is a danger to himself or others, or (2) lacks the mental capacity to contract or manage
their own affairs, that person is federally prohibited.

Item (5): Only a legal and lawful alien may purchase or redeem a firearm.

For those with immigrant status, the following must be provided:
(1) proof of 90 consecutive days of residency;
(2) a form of government issued photo identification; and
(3) a valid alien registration card issued by United States Immigration and Customs
Enforcement (ICE)

For nonimmigrant status, the following must be provided:
(1) proof of 90 consecutive days of residency;
(2) a form of government issued photo identification;
(3) avalid 194 card issued by United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement; and
(4) at least one of the following exceptions must be met:
a. provide a valid hunting license or permit
b. be verified by the US Department of State as an official representative of a
foreign government
c. be designated by the US Department of State as an official of a foreign
government or distinguished foreign visitor
d. be verified by the US Department of State as a foreign law enforcement
officer of a friendly foreign government entering the US on official law
enforcement business
e. have a US Department of State verified waiver
f.  Other lawful documentation as provided by the US Department of State

Item (6): Those who have been discharged from the US Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions
are federally prohibited.

Item (7): Persons that have renounced their US citizenship are federally prohibited.

Item (8): Persons subject to a court order that restrains them from harassing, stalking or threatening
an intimate partner or child of an intimate partner, or from engaging in other conduct that would place
the partner or child in reasonable fear of bodily injury are federally prohibited.

Item (9): Persons convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence are prohibited
federally from possessing a firearm.

A person is federally prohibited from possessing a firearm if that person was convicted of a crime,
that
(a) is a misdemeanor under state or federal law (or in states that do not use the terminology
“misdemeanor” - any offense that is punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or
less, and includes offenses that are punishable by fine);
(b) involves the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly
weapon; and
(c) was committed by a current or former spouse, parent or guardian of the victim, by a person
with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has
cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or a person similarly situated to a
spouse, parent or guardian of the victim.
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SAMPLE APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT

APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION e ST o
SFN 9756 (08-07) o X
NCICICWIS AIT? No  Yes RECEIPT DATE:
: N REGORD? Mo Yas-AMached | RECEIFT#
D Class 1 {New) D Class 2 (New) W ET? Na_ Yes - Allached
[ Class 1 (Renewal) [ Class 2 (Renewal) e T
Prior P?"““ No CWRTN: ESUE DATE:
Expiration Date: NCS T SSUED BY:

PRIVACY ACT NOTIFICATION

Your social security number is requested to permit the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation to properly conduct a background investigation pursuant to
N.D.C.C § 62.1-04-03 before the issuance of a license to carry a concealed weapon. Disclosure of your social security number is voluniary. However, not providing
this information miay result in delay of issuance of a license due to misidentification or criminal records check requirements of other state, local, or federal agencies.

APPLICANT INFORMATION (Please print clearly in ink, or type)

NAME  (LAST) (FIRST) (MIDDLE) - MAIDEN/PRIOR/OTHER NAMES NICKNAMES

DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY AND STATE) SQCIAL SECURITY NUMBER PHONE NUMBER

SEX RACE ETHMICITY HEIGHT WEIGHT EYE COLOR | HAIR COLOR COUNTY IN WHICH YOU RESIDE RESIDE IN o no O ves
. CITY LIMITS?

STREET ADDRESS CiTY STATE . ZIP CODE

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM STREET ADDRESS) CITY STATE ZIP CODE

PRIOR ADDRESS(ES) YOU HAVE LIVED AT DURING THE PAST FIVE YEARS. ATTACH ADDITIChi THREE PRIOR ADDRESSES

STREET AND NUMBER STATE
CIRCLE ALL STATES WHERE YOU HAVE EVER LIVEQ PULT (18 YRS. OR OLDER). CA CO CT DE DC FL GA H
IF THIS IS A RENEWAL, ONLY GIRCLE THE STATES YOU HAVE LIVED IN DURING THE D L N A KS KY LA ME MD MA M MN MS
PAST THREE YEARS. . MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR
PA Rl SC SD TN TX UT NT WA WA WV W WY

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND

NEW APPLICANTS: LIST ALL OFFENSES YOU HAVE EVER BEEN CHARGED WITH DURING YOUR LIFETIME (OTHER THAN TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS). RENEWAL APPLICANTS:
LIST ALL OFFENSES YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF IN THE LAST THREE YEARS (OTHER THAN TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS).

DATE CHARGE LOCATION (CITY, COUNTY, STATE) DISPOSITION
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EMPLOYER INFORMATION

PRESENT EMPLOYER : CCCUPATION/JCB TITLE

PRESENT EMPLOYER'S ADORESS cITy STATE ZIP CODE PHONE NUMBER

PLEASE INDICATE IF YOU ARE EMPLOYED IN ANY OF THE FOLLOWING CAPACITIES:

I:] LICENSED PEACE OFFICER D EMPLOYEE OF LOCAL CORRECTIONAL FACILITY [:I JUVENILE COURT SUPERVISOR

D EMPLOYEE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY I:I EMPLOYEE OF DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS AND D JUVENILE PROBATION OFFICER
REHABILITATION : .

I:I LOCAL CORRECTIONAL OFFICER

IF YOU ARE AN EMPLOYEE OF A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, STATE OR LOCAL CORRECTIONAL FACILITY, OR THE DEPARTMENT OF 2 1
CORRECTIONS AND REHABILITATION (DOCR), DO YOU EVER WORK IN AN UNDERCOVER CAPACITY? - NO YES

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED INFORMAﬂON

NEW APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF A

CRIME OTHER THAN TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS? NG YES - LIST ON CRIMINAL BACKGROUND

RENEWAL APPLICANTS: IN THE LAST THREE YEARS, HAVE YOU BEEN CHARGED

WITH OR CONVICTED OF A CRIME OTHER THAN TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS? NO

YES - LIST ON CRIMINAL BACKGROUND

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN ADJUDICATED MENTALLY

DEFECTIVE {which includes a determination by a court, board, commission or ather lewful
autherity that you are a danger to yaurself or to others or ara incompetant to manage your own
affairs) OR HAVE YOU BEEN COMMITTED TO A MENTAL INSTITUTION?

ALL APPLICANTS: DO YOU POSSESS ANY FEDERAL

FIREARM LICENSES OR PERMITS? YES - TYPE?

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE ANY OTHER WEAPONS PERMITS EVER
BEEN ISSUED TO YOU OR POSSESSED BY YOU?

O
O
NO D YES - Cemplete Form SFNS756-2
O
»

AND FROM WHERE?

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN GRANTED RELIEF FROM THE

ATF, OR HAD YOUR RIGHT TO BEAR ARMS RESTORED? D WHEN?

ALL APPLICANTS: IS THERE CURRENTLY A PROTECTION/RESTRAINING ORDES
AGAINST YOU?

EXPIRATION DATE?

ALL APPLICANTS: ARE YOU A FUGITIVE FROM JUSTICE?

ALL APPLICANTS: ARE YOU AN UNLAWFUL L
OR ANY DEPRESSANT, STIMULANT, OR NARC{

YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN
OTHER CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE?

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU BEEN DISCHARW
DISHONORABLE CONDITIONS?

NO YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN

ALL APPLICANTS: ARE YOU AN ALIEN ILLE

NO YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN

ALL APPLIGANTS: HAVE YOU EVER RENOUNCE
CITIZENSHIP?

OUR UNITED STATES
YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN

ALL APPLICANTS: ARE YOU A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES?

O
O
O
O
O
[ ]
g
g
|
d
O
O
a

olololal o

{If you are nol a US citizen, country of cilizenship and ICE-issuad alien or admission number YES NO - COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP,

are required. Please see instruction section of the application form regarding additional
documentation required to process noncitizen applications.)

ICE-ISSUED ALIEN OR ADMISSION NUMBER

ALL APPLICANTS: HAS THE FBI NICS SECTION ISSUED YOU A VOLUNTARY APPEAL D YES- UPIN NUMEER

FILE UPIN NUMBER? NO

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF A
-CRIME INVOLVING SUBSTANCE ABUSE? (Sea form 8756-2) (Ex. Possession or D NO

YES — PLEASE EXPLAIN
) ia alc.)

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF A
CRIME INVOLVING ALCOHOL? (See Form SFN §756-2) (Ex. Driving Under the Influence O wo

YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN
- elc.)

ALL APPLICANTS: HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF A
‘CRIME INVOLVING DOMESTIC VIOLENCE? (See form SFN 9756-2) (Ex. Disorderly Conduct, D NO
Simple Assault etc.} :

o(o|o|o

YES - PLEASE EXPLAIN

ALL APPLICANTS: REA3SON FOR APPLYING FOR A CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT:

| authorize law enforcement agencies to make inquiry into my military, police, or medical history, and fo obtain copies of those reports if they deem it
necessary. | also certify that the answers to all these questions are true and correct, | understand the making of any false or misleading statement or
answer with respect to this application is a crime. '

APPLICANT'S NAME (PRINT CLEARLY) DATE SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT
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WRITTEN TEST (Please print clearly in ink, or type)

TEST ADMINISTRATOR (NAME) _ TEST ADMINISTRATOR NUMBER TESTING DATE

AGENCY ADDRESS (GITY) AMOUNT OF FEE COLLEGTED (3)
WRITTEN TEST: PASSED FAILED

DATE SIGNATURE OF TEST ADMINISTRATOR

After successful completion of the testing, applicant must get the signature of the Chief of Police, if applicable. The Sheriff's signature is required on all

applications.

REVIEW OF LOCAL RECORDS BY CHIEF OF POLICE (Please print clearly in ink, or type)

CHIEF OF POLICE (NAME) CITY . DATE RECEIVED
POLICE RECORDS I:] NO . RECORD D NO PERSON CONDUCTING REVIEW
CHECKED? FOUND? .
O ves [J YES - PROVIDE DETAIL
[0 NO RECOMMENDATION
RESULTS OF
RECORD REVIEW O PERMIT IS RECOMMENDED
[J PERMIT IS NOT RECOMMENDED (PROVIDE B
DATE
REVIEW OF LOCAL RECORIILEY SH & print clearly in ink, or type)

SHERIFF (NAME) DATE RECEIVED

SHERIFF RECORDS CHECKED? r_—l EEE:E?D D NO PERSON CONDUCTING REVIEW
O ) [} YES - PROVIDE DETAIL
[0 NO RECOMMENDATION

RESULTS OF

RECORD REVIEW 0 PERMIT IS RECOMMENDED
[0 PERMIT IS NOT RECOMMENDED (PROVIDE REASON)

DATE SIGNATURE OF SHERIFF (OR DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE)
APPROVAL OR DENIAL BY DIRECT OR OF BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION
MNAME OF BCI DIRECTOR (OR DESIGNEE) TITLE DATE RECEIVED

] apPrROVED
O DENIED (PROVIDE REASON)

APPLICATION IS:

DATE SIGNATURE OF BCI DIRECTOR {OR DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE)
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AUTHORIZATION TO DISCLOSE HEALTH INFORMATION
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION

SFN #9756-2 (04/09)

PRIVACY STATEMENT: Disclosure of the social security number is voluntary and is requested for the purpose of accurate
communication. Failure to disclose a social security number will not affect the disclosure of other information. The Office of Attorney
General may require that you authorize disclosure of your heaim information in order to make a determination Eﬁ:uutyour eligibility for
a Concealed Weapons Permit.

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete all sections.

NAVE OF PATIENT . } SCCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DATE OFBRTH

STREET ADDRESS cITY STATE 7P
RELEASE AND SIGNATURE .

1.1 HEREBY AUTHORIZE: NAME OF PROVIDERFACILITY

STREET ADDREES iy F

2.TO RELEASE INFORMATION TO: . ND BUREAU OF CRig

records; drug and/or 'alm
paragraph 4 below.

4, | specifically authorize the relegge of eal{i#Nd drug/alcohol treatment records.

5. The information identified above determining eligibility for a Concealed Weapons Permit.
6. This authorization to disclose info Bn remains in effect for TWO YEARS from the date of signature.

PATIENTI/CLIENT CONSENT

This authorization is voluntary and remains in effect until the above date unless specifically revoked by written notice fo the individual
or organization. This authorization may be revoked at any time. Any information released prior to written revacation of this
authorization is not a breach of confidentiality. The Bureau of Criminal Investigation is not a health care provider or health plan
covered by federal privacy regulations and therefore the information described above may be redisclosed and is no longer protected
by the HIPAA privacy rule. The BCI may be required to disclose certain information to the National Criminal Justice Information
System. A copy of this authorization shall be as effective as the original. Unless otherwise agreed in writing; information may be

disclosed under this authorization in any form or medium, including oral, written, or electronic transmission.
SIGNATURE _ DATE

WITNESS SIGNATURE (IFNEEDED) . . DATE

NOTICE TO WHOMEVER DISCLOSURE IS MADE CONCERNING CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY RECORDS: This information has
been disclosed fo you from records whose confidentiality is protected by federal law. Federal Regulations (42-CFR Part 2) prohibits
you from making any further disclosure of it without the specified written consent of the person to whom it pertains, or as otherwise
permitted by these regulations. A general authorization for disclosure of information is NOT sufficient for this purpose.
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INSTRUCTIONS

Class 1 New Applicant:

After the first page is completed, it is your obligation to make an appointment with a certified weapons test administrator to take your test., A list of test administrators
is available from your local law enforcement agency. A list of civilian test adminisirators is available on the Aticrney General's Office website at www.ag.nd.gov.

TESTING: The test administrator will be able to provide a copy of the North Dakota Concealed Weapon Permit Manual, and answer any questions you have about
the testing process, and the testing fee. State law allows test administrators to charge a maximum of $50.00. The test administrator must complete the "Written Test’
portion of the application form. The applicant shall successfully participate in a classroom instruction, complete an open book test based upon a manual, demonstrate
familiarity with a firearm or dangerous weapon, and complete an actual shooting or certified proficiency exercise.

FINGERPRINTS: Two sels of classifisble fingerprints are required for new applicants, Make arrangements with your local law enforcement agency to have your
fingerprints taken. You may be charged a fee for this service. Attach both sets of fingerprints to your application form. The local sheriff may retain one set of
fingerprints and the second set will be forwarded to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation with your application.

PHOTOGRAPHS: Attach two 1* by 1% color pholographs. These should be the same style, clarity, and size as a North Dakota driver's license photograph or a
passport photograph.

FEE: The fee for processing your application is $45.00. Please attach a check or money order made payable to *North Dakota Attorney General."

SIGNATURES: The applicant must obtain the signature of the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides. If the applicant lives within a city and that ity has
a police department, the signature of the Chief of Palice is also required.

APPLICATION PROCESSING: State law provides that the Sheriff s required to process applications within thirty days. If the applicant lives within a city and that city
has a police department, the signature of the Chief of Police is aiso required. The police department must process the application within ten working days of receipt
by the agency. The Bureau of Criminal Investigation must process the application and make a determination within thirty days of receipt from the forwarding agency.

Class 1 Renewal:

A Class 1 renewal may be renewed upon successful completion of the Class 1 requirements witt bmission of the application for renewal. The
application may be submitted for renewal for a period of 80 days before expiration i he expiration of the permil. State law allows
test administrators to charge a maximum of $50.00.

Fingerprints are not required for imely renewals, but th e the same as for the New Applicant.

Class 2 New Application:

After the first page Is completed, if
is available from your local law enfl dministrators is available on the Attorney General's Office website at www.ag.nd.gov.
TESTING: The test administrato
the testing process, and the testin
portion of the application form. An

vide a copy of the North Dakota Concealed Weapon Permit Manual, and answer any questions you have about
e 18w allows test administrators to charge a maximum of $50.00. The test administrator must complete the "Written Test'
ant for Class 2 license is required lo successfully complete the open baok test offered for the Class 1 license.

FINGERPRINTS: Two sels of classifiable fingerprints are required for new applicanis. Make arrangements with your local law enforcement agency lo have your
fingerprints taken. You may be charged a fee for this service. Aftach both sets of fingerprints to your application form. The local sheriff may refain one set of
fingerprints and the second set will be forwarded to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation with your application.

PHOTOGRAPHS: Aitach two 1" by 1% color pholographs. These should be the same style, clarity, and size as a North Dakota driver's license or photo passport
photograph.

FEE: The fee for processing your application is $45.00. Please attach a check or maney order made payable to “North Dakota Attorney General."

SIGNATURES: The applicant must obtain the signature of the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides. If the applicant lives within & city and that city has
a police department, the signature of the Chief of Police is also required.

APPLICATION PROCESSING: State law provides that the Sheriff is required to process applications within thirty days. If the applicant lives within a city and that city
has a police department, the signature of the Chief of Police is also required. The police department must process the applicalion within ten working days of receipt
by the agency. The Bureau of Criminal Investigation must process the application and make a determination within thirty days of receipt from the forwarding agency.

Class 2 Renewal:

You may begin the Class 2 renewal process during the period 90 days before expiration of the permit and up to 90 days after the expiraticn of the permit. Testing and
fingerprints are not required for timely renewals. You will need to submit photographs, fees and obtain required signatures as indicated for a Class 2 New Applicafion,
above. If the permit has been expired for more then 90 deys, you will be required to take the written portion of the test again and submit fingerprints.
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»  New Application or Renewal: Check "new application” if you have never had a concealed weapon permit or if more than 80 days has
elapsed since your permit expired. Check “renewal” if you are renewing a permit that will expire in 90 days or less or has already expired but it
is less than 90 days since expiration.

Name: Provide complete legal name.

Maiden/Prior/Other Names: Provide maiden name and any other names by which you have been known.

Nicknames: List any nicknames by which you are known.

Date of Birth: Provide the month, day, and four-digit year .

Place of Birth: Provide city and state of birth. If you were born outside the United States, also provide country of birth.

Social Security Number: Provide social security number. See privacy act nofification on front of application.

Phone Number: Provide area code and 7-digit number.

Sex: F =Female, M = Male.

Race: A = Asian or Pacific Islander, B = Black, | = American Indian or Alaskan Native, W = White.

Ethnicity: H = Hispanic, N = Non-Hispanic.

Height: Provide your heightin feet and inches. For example, 5'9".

Weight: Provide your weight in pounds.

Employer Information: List employer, occupation, and employer address. If you are em
Additional Information: Check yes or no to each question. If yes, provide further inf
Criminal Background: New applicants list all offenses. Renewal applicagiadist all of

n law enforcement, check which capacity.

in the last three years.

ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED IF YOU ARE NOT A US CITIZg
For immigrant status, the following must be provided:
(1)  proof of 80 consecutive days of regy : ; i , st dgr the last three manths),
(2) acopy of your governmept issu i g
(3) acopy of your valid is

For nonimmigrant st

ent (ICE).

me tate documentation as an official representative of a foreign government;
riment of State documentation of designation as an official of a foreign government or distinguished foreign visitor;
S Departrnent of State verification as a foreign law enforcement officer of a friendly foreign government entering the US on
official law enforcement business;
e, US Department of State verified waiver;
f.  other lawful US Depariment of State documentation.

ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR COURT ORDERED TREATMENT, COMMITMENT FOR MENTAL HEALTH OR ALCOHOL OR
SUBSTANCE ABUSE OR INCIDENTS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE: The applicant shall provide all documentation relating to any court ordered treatment or
commitment for mental health or alcohol or substance abuse incidents or incidents of domestic violence. This includes the following:

(1) Police or sheriff incident reports,

(2) Court Judgments

(3) Doctor's progress notes;

(4) Proof of completion of treatment.

THE APPLICANT SHALL PROVIDE THE DIRECTOR OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION WRITTEN AUTHORIZATIONS FOR DISCLOSURE OF THE
APPLICANT’S MENTAL HEALTH AND ALCOHOL OR SUBSTANCE ABUSE EVALUATION AND TREATMENT RECORDS.

ATTACH: 1 SET OF FINGERPRINTS (1 SET TO BE MAINTAINED BY THE COUNTY SHERIFF)
2 COLOR PHOTOGRAPHS (1" x 1%") (SIMILAR TO DRIVER'S LICENSE PHOTO)
$45 FEE MADE PAYABLE TO "ND ATTORNEY GENERAL"

COMPLETED AUTHORIZATION FOR DISCLOSURE OF HEALTH RECORDS

FORWARD TO: NORTH DAKOTA BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION
PO BOX 1054
BISMARCK ND 58502-1054
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BASIC HANDGUN USE
Firearms Safety
YOU are ultimately responsible for your weapons, at home, at a shooting range and everywhere else.
This includes cleaning, dry-firing and storage of the weapons. There is no such thing as an “accidental
discharge,” only an unintentional discharge! It wasn't an accident; someone didn’t practice safety.

Safety Rules
The cardinal rules:
1. TREAT EVERY WEAPON AS IF IT IS LOADED.
e Never point any weapon at anything you do not intend to shoot. Most unintentional
discharges occur as a result of someone thinking it was unloaded, but it goes off

anyway.

2. Aloaded weapon in the home has a much greater danger potential than an unloaded weapon.

o Many people feel that they need to have loaded weapons within reach in their homes for
security reasons. This is close to paranoia! Weapons should be unloaded and locked to
prevent children from being able to operate them. It doesn't take long to load a weapon
for use.

3. Never put your finger on the trigger until you are ready to fire.
e Many people have had a gun discharge in the holster because they place their finger on
the trigger as they are drawing or holstering the weapon. The weapon can’t go off
without the trigger being pulled.

4. Anytime a weapon is given to you, check that weapon to see if it is loaded.
e Open the cylinder or action, then look and feel to make sure it is empty. Many semi-
automatic pistols can shoot even if the magazine is out. Open the cylinder or action, then
look and feel to make sure it is empty.

5. Never depend on the mechanical safety device.

e Just like everything else that is mechanical, safeties may fail. For hunting and sporting
activities, having the safety on is a good practice but never depend on it entirely. Keep
the weapon pointed in a safe direction at all times with your finger off the trigger and
unload and secure it when you are not planning on using it.

6. If a cocked weapon is given to you, the proper procedure to follow is to point the muzzle in a
safe direction and carefully let the hammer down.

e To accomplish this with a revolver, the hammer must be held with the thumb of one
hand. Once a good grip is on the hammer, pull the trigger slowly to release the hammer.
Once the hammer is released, let go of the trigger and slowly let the hammer down to
the rest position.

e With the current semi-automatic handguns, this may be easily accomplished. First, keep
the weapon pointed in a safe direction and remove the magazine from the magazine
well. Then work the slide to the rear and lock it in the open position. Look and feel to
ensure there is nothing in the chamber.

7. If you are going to give a weapon to someone else, pass it to them with the magazine out and
the action locked back or with the cylinder open.
e Be courteous to others. Show them that you are practicing safety in your actions. Then
make sure they check the weapon anyway.

8. For your own safety, you should inspect your own weapons for proper care and maintenance.
¢ Follow the manufacturer’s specifications for care, maintenance and cleaning. Weapons
will last a long time if they are cared for properly.
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Nomenclature

Figure 1: Pistol

a. Front Sight b. Slide c. Stop Notch d. Slide Stop Lever
e. Rear Sight f. Tang g. Grip h. Magazine Catch
i. Trigger j.  Slide Lock k. Trigger Guard . Frame

a b c

Figure 2: Revolver

a. Front Sight b. Top Strap c. Rear Sight d. Thumb Piece
e. Grip f.  Trigger g. Cylinder h. Yoke
i.  Extractor Rod
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Basic Inspection Guidelines
a. Exterior
a. Make sure that there are no spots of rust or corrosion
b. Make sure there are no bulges or bent parts
c. Make sure that the weapon is clean
d. Make sure that the sights are not loose
b. Barrel
a. Look to see that there is nothing lodged in the barrel
b. Look for any deposits and that the barrel is clean
c. Function
a. Make sure that the weapon functions properly mechanically
b. For a pistol
o Slide locks back
o Slide release works
0 Magazine locks in and releases properly
c. For arevolver
0 Cylinder opens and closes properly
0 Cylinder rotates without binding
d. IF ANY MECHANICAL PROBLEM IS FOUND, take the weapon to a qualified armorer or
gunsmith.

SHOOTING FUNDAMENTALS

Breath Control

There are many schools of thought with hunters and competition shooters depending on the weapon
and the type of shooting. The key is not to hold your breath while shooting. The first visible sign of the
brain not having enough oxygen is trembling. This does not support good weapon control.

Stance
Many different stances are available and have been taught in the past including Point shoulder, Weaver
and Modified weaver. No matter what the situation, any shooting stance must provide a stable shooting
platform.

Grip

The proper grip differs with the type of handgun being used. For a pistol the hand is placed high on the
back of weapon, right under the tang. For a pistol to operate properly the grip strength must be
appropriate, otherwise the functioning may be impaired. To find the proper grip strength, Grip the
weapon until the hand starts to shake, then back off the pressure just until the shaking stops. That is
how hard to grip the pistol.

For a revolver, the hand is placed high up on the back strap or grip with the webbing between thumb
and trigger finger at very top. The revolver is held just like a friendly hand shake and no more pressure
need be applied.

For either handgun, the support hand provides only support and no pressure should be exerted. It
provides only support or stability.

The trigger finger should make contact with the trigger with the first segment of the finger. If right
handed, the right edge of the trigger should be touching the first joint. If left-handed, the left edge of the
trigger should be touching the first joint. Revolver grips may be changed easily and many styles are
available so the handgun can be made to fit your hand. Pistol grips are not interchangeable so the
placement of the hand may need to be changed in order to get the trigger finger in the proper place.
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Trigger Pull

You should not know the exact instant a handgun will fire. There are two most common mistakes made
while shooting that affect accuracy. The first is to anticipate the gun going off. This is a flinch and will
cause the bullets to go high. The second and more common mistake is to make the gun go off when
you want it to. This s called a jerk and will cause the bullets to go low.

The trigger pull for a revolver should be smooth and the end must be a squeeze. For double action take
up the first part of the trigger pull, acquire sights, and then squeeze. (pull-sight-squeeze) For single
action it is squeeze only. (sight-squeeze) Follow-through is what your trigger finger does after the shot.
The proper follow-through is to hold the trigger to the rear until the weapon recovers from recoil.

For single action only pistols the trigger pull is the same as for revolvers. For double/single and full
double action pistols, trigger reset should be used. Trigger reset is how far the trigger needs to be let
forward in order to reengage the sear so it may be fired again. This is all the farther the trigger need be
let forward. The first round fired will be the pull-sight-squeeze but the subsequent shots will be reset-
sight-squeeze.

Sighting a Firearm

Which eye should be used for aiming? It is more fundamentally sound that a right-handed shooter use
the right eye and a left-handed shooter use the left eye to sight a handgun. For close distances it is also
possible to use both eyes.

Most people will have one dominant eye. This does not mean that the other is weaker, only that one will
be chosen from habit or preference. If there is a large difference between the eyes, it may not be
possible to sight a handgun with both eyes open and not possible to close the dominant eye while
keeping the other one open. However, It is possible to learn how to use either eye.

Sight Alignment
There are three components used for sighting

A B

The relationship between the front sight, rear sight and where you want the bullet to strike is called
sight alignment. Proper sight alignment is: the front sight is centered in the rear sight and level with the
top and positioned just below where you want the bullet to strike the target. The slang term for proper
sight alignment is pumpkin on a post.

Sight Picture

Sight picture is what you will see or how you will see the sights. Human vision cannot focus on three
different items at three different distances so we must pick one to focus on. The other two will appear a
little blurry. Which one should we focus our vision on? Vision should be focused on the front sight. The
rear sight and where the bullet will strike will look a little blurry.
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Adjusting the Sights

Every weapon comes from the manufacture with the sights adjusted properly. No weapon has ever hot
where it has not been aimed. Sight alignment and sight picture is the key. Unless the sights are
damaged, there should be no reason to adjust the sights. Many people adjust their sights to cover for
bad sight alignment or improper trigger control.

If the sights have been damaged and need to be adjusted, it is the rear sight that is adjustable. The rear
sight should be moved in the same direction that you want the bullet strike to move. For example, if the
handgun is shooting to the left you want the strike to move to the right so move the rear sight to the
right.

Loading a handgun
Prior to loading a handgun that is completely empty it should be inspected to ensure it is clean and a
function check done.

A revolver may then be loaded by placing a round into each charge hole in the cylinder and the weapon
properly closed.

For a Pistol: The pistol is completely empty and a magazine is fully loaded but not in weapon. There is
also one extra loose round available. With weapon pointed in a safe direction insert the magazine into
the magazine well. The finger should not be touching the trigger.

Seat the magazine into the magazine well by pushing it in until a click is heard. There is no need to
slam the magazine into pistol as damage to the weapon or the magazine will occur. Rack the slide to
insert one round into the chamber. Activate the magazine catch and remove magazine. The loose
round may now be inserted into the top of the magazine. Re-insert the magazine into the pistol without
slamming it in. You can make sure the magazine is properly seated by pulling on the floor plate. The
pistol is now completely loaded.

Administrative Unloading

A revolver may be unloaded by pointing the weapon in a safe direction and activating the thumb piece
to open the cylinder. The muzzle should be pointed up and the rounds will fall out of the charge holes.
To unload a pistol, remember that there is a live round in the chamber. With pistol pointed in a safe
direction, lock slide to the rear. The support hand must not cover the ejection port and the loose round
should fall on the floor, etc. Do not attempt to catch the loose round.

Reloading

To reload a revolver it should be emptied just as with the administrative unloading. The extractor rod
should be pressed to remove the empty brass while the muzzle is pointed up. The muzzle should now
be pointed downward and new ammunition may be placed into the weapon and it closed properly.

For a pistol, when it is empty the slide should lock back. Obtain the spare magazine and while holding it
properly, bring it towards the weapon. As it nears the weapon, release the empty magazine. The empty
magazine will drop and it goes on the ground. Insert the new magazine into the pistol (do not slam it in)
and using the support hand, release the slide forward just as when initially loading.

Malfunctions with a handgun

Anything mechanical may fail at some time so it is important that handguns be inspected regularly. It is
very rare that a revolver will malfunction while shooting. Bad ammunition may cause a problem but
anything else will probably be something that has broken in the weapon and it must be fixed.

For a pistol it is another matter. There are many reasons a pistol may fail while shooting. The vast
majority of malfunctions are caused by the shooter including the lack of cleaning, poor maintenance
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and improper grip while shooting. Bad magazines are the next leading cause. Clean and check the
magazines on a regular basis just as the pistol.

Bad ammunition may also cause some malfunctions. Factory ammunition is recommended for use in
pistols. Some manufacturer's warranties will be void is reloaded ammunition is used. Do not use lead
bullets in a pistol. Metal jacketed rounds should be used.

Each time the trigger is pulled on a revolver, the cylinder rotates and a new round is struck by the firing
pin, a pistol has four distinct operations that must be completed for each shot. Those four operations
are to feed, fire, extract and eject. If any of these fail, it will cause a malfunction. The process to clear
any malfunction while shooting a pistol is called “tap - rack.”

o To properly perform the tap-rack the finger must come off of the trigger. The flat open support
hand slaps the bottom of the magazine and the slide is racked just as when initially loading the
weapon. It is important not to cover the ejection port as a bad round or an empty case has to
leave the weapon. The weapon may be canted to the right to let gravity assist in removing
anything from the pistol.

If either a fail to extract or fail to eject occurs, it is likely that a double feed condition will be created.
There is one empty and one live round, both trying to occupy the same space. When this happens the
slide will probably not be in battery and you will not be able to tap and rack. The remedy for a double
feed is called “rip - work - tap - rack.”

e Rip = remove the magazine. There will be one round partially in the weapon and patrtially in the
magazine so it may be difficult to rip the magazine out. Point the weapon is a safe direction and
the finger must be off the trigger. Press the magazine catch and grab the floor plate of the
magazine to pull it out.

¢ Work = work the action back and forth rapidly at least twice.

e Tap-rack = same as above, but includes re-inserting the magazine into the weapon.

HE#
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