#### **Loan Policies**

### **Loan Policy**

Limit: 20 items per patron.

TYPE OF ITEM	LOAN PERIOD
Book Kits	8 Weeks
Large Print	8 Weeks
STEM Kits	8 Weeks
Audio Books	8 Weeks
Books	8 Weeks
CDs	8 Weeks
DVDs	8 Weeks
Magazines & Journals	8 Weeks
Video Cassettes	8 Weeks

## **Hold Policy**

A hold may be placed on any of the North Dakota State Library materials that are available for loan. If you need assistance, please contact the Reference Department at 701-328-4622 or 800-472-2104.

## **Overdue Policy**

- No daily overdue fines are charged.
- Borrowing privileges are suspended when a patron accumulates \$25 in charges or when a library accumulates \$200 in charges.

#### **Lost/Damaged Policy**

Patrons will be billed for lost or damaged items in the following manner:

- For materials that are still commercially available, charges will be based on the cost of replacement.
- For out-of-print materials, charges will be based on the average cost as listed in the most recent edition of The Bowker Annual or similar resource.
- For a multi-volume set of books, the patron will be charged for one volume if the volume is replaceable. If a single volume is not replaceable, the patron will be charged for the entire set.
- For a lost or damaged piece of an audio/visual set, the patron will be charged for one piece if a single piece is replaceable. If a single piece is not replaceable, the patron will be charged for the entire set.
- If a lost item is found and returned to the State Library, a refund may be issued up to three months after payment upon proof of payment. After three months, a refund may be issued on a case by case basis by the Public Services Manager.

# **Patron Confidentiality Statement**

Any record maintained or received by the North Dakota State Library which provides a library patron's name or information sufficient to identify a patron together with the subject about which the patron requested information is considered private and is exempted from the public records disclosure requirements of NDCC 44-04-18 pursuant to NDCC 40-38-12 and shall not be made available upon request of any person other than the patron. This includes parents, spouses, relatives, employers, school administrators, teachers, caretakers, government officials, and law enforcement without a subpoena or court order. A patron may give permission in writing for another person to view their library record and or to pick up holds on their behalf.