Skip to main content. - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends


Library Development

The mission of the Library Development Department is to empower librarians to strengthen their communities. Library Development staff work to accomplish this through consultation services, training, resource development, and by meeting with library workers on site to assist them where and when they need it.

Library Policy Templates

Library policies set out the rules and regulations that guide patron and staff behavior in the library. They mitigate liability and safeguard community investment in the library. To be effective, library policies should be up to date, board approved, publicly available, and familiar to all staff.

Strategic Planning

Your Library Development Specialist will work with you and your board to help plan for your library's future. We created and gathered together these Strategic Planning resources to help guide you through the process.

Web Design for Public Libraries

The State Library will design and publish a basic website for your library. You will be able to post news and updates to your site. To apply, please complete and submit the Public Library Website Design Application.

Contact your Library Development Specialist to Schedule a Visit

Trevor Martinson ( represents: Adams, Aneta, Bottineau, Cando, Carrington, Cavalier, Cooperstown, Devils Lake, Drake, Grafton, Harvey, Hatton, Lakota, Langdon, Larimore, Leeds, Maddock, Mayville, McVille, Michigan, Minnewaukan, New Rockford, Northwood, Park River, Pembina, Rolette, Rolla, Rugby, Velva, Walhalla

Abby Ebach ( represents: Beach, Beulah, Bowbells, Bowman, Crosby, Dickinson, Elgin, Fort Yates, Garrison, Glen Ullin, Hazen, Hebron, Hettinger, Kenmare, Killdeer, Mandan, Max, Minot (Ward County), Mohall, Mott, New England, New Town, Parshall, Riverdale, Sherwood, Stanley, Stanton, Turtle Lake, Underwood, Washburn, Watford City, Williston

Mary Soucie ( represents: Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot, West Fargo

Eric Stroshane ( represents: Ashley, Buffalo, Casselton, Edgeley, Ellendale, Enderlin, Forman, Gackle, Hankinson, Jamestown, Kindred, LaMoure, Lidgerwood, Linton, Lisbon, Milnor, Oakes, Steele, Valley City, Wahpeton, Wishek

Contact UsWebsite Policies

© Copyright 2018 - North Dakota State Library
Mary J. Soucie, State Librarian
A division of the
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction - Kirsten Baesler, State Superintendent

Selected links on this website are in PDF format, which requires the use of Adobe Reader. For a free download, please visit the Adobe Reader website.